Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-09-2012, 10:04 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
S_Hurley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 70
Cycling Question

Ok quick question... So can a water conditioner like Prime be used to replace cycling? It seems like after I use this conditioner my levels are fine?
__________________

__________________
S_Hurley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 10:13 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrs.h2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by S_Hurley
Ok quick question... So can a water conditioner like Prime be used to replace cycling? It seems like after I use this conditioner my levels are fine?
As far as I know it can't, It only temporarily reduces the levels and doesnt permanently reduce them. It's meant to neutralize ammonia and nitrite in tap water so it's not like a double dose and will rise the levels (if your doing a fish in cycle), especially if you already have existing ammonia and nitrites in your water you really don't want to add to it for the safety of your fish since with fish in cycles you want ammonia and nitrite to be .25ppm and under.
__________________

__________________
Mrs.h2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 10:57 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 24
Prime can be used as a "band aid" to detoxify the nitrites in your water so it is not toxic to your fish. It wears off at about 24 hours.
__________________
coolbeenes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 11:39 PM   #4
jlk
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: philadelphia suburbs
Posts: 11,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by S_Hurley
Ok quick question... So can a water conditioner like Prime be used to replace cycling? It seems like after I use this conditioner my levels are fine?
Prime won't 'replace' cycling. It simply helps to temporarily detox ammonia and nitrite if they are present and dechlorinates tap water. It won't eliminate the need for water changes in a fishin cycle but can be double or triple dosed in an emergency if a water change can't be performed. Water changes to actually remove toxins are the best thing.
__________________
jlk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 09:02 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
S_Hurley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlk

Prime won't 'replace' cycling. It simply helps to temporarily detox ammonia and nitrite if they are present and dechlorinates tap water. It won't eliminate the need for water changes in a fishin cycle but can be double or triple dosed in an emergency if a water change can't be performed. Water changes to actually remove toxins are the best thing.
Ok thanks, so in kinda new to this bare with me. When I do a water change after my cycling do I just use two water?
__________________
S_Hurley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 10:54 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,011
Cycling Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by S_Hurley View Post
Ok quick question... So can a water conditioner like Prime be used to replace cycling? It seems like after I use this conditioner my levels are fine?
Hello S...

Prime removes ammonia, chlorine and chloramines from the tap water. It won't do anything for the "cycling process". You want to grow the microscopic bugs that eat the nitrogens produced by the fish waste.

You could use Seachem's "Stability". The product will provide the good bacteria (bugs) needed. I've used it with hardy fish to cycle my first tank.

B
__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 11:37 AM   #7
jlk
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
jlk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: philadelphia suburbs
Posts: 11,119
Quote:
Originally Posted by S_Hurley View Post
Ok thanks, so in kinda new to this bare with me. When I do a water change after my cycling do I just use two water?
I am not quite sure what your asking? When your tank has fully cycled, you need to dose water conditioner to your tank size before refilling when you do water changes. If using buckets, you can treat each bucket before putting it in the tank.
__________________
jlk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 01:45 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
S_Hurley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by jlk

I am not quite sure what your asking? When your tank has fully cycled, you need to dose water conditioner to your tank size before refilling when you do water changes. If using buckets, you can treat each bucket before putting it in the tank.
I'm sorry do I use tap water ok but that answers my question thanks!
__________________

__________________
S_Hurley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.