Cycling questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Pmul2

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi, I am fairly new to fish keeping and I recently bought a 38 gal freshwater aquarium. About a week ago, I added tetra safe start to my aquarium and my ph is 7.8, ammonia .25ppm, nitrite 0ppm and nitrate 0ppm, can I add some fish now? Or do I need to do something else to get my tank safe for fish?

:welcome: to the forum! With the safe start I would still wait. Ammonia and nitrite needs to be at 0 and nitrate can be 20 or lower. Under my post as my signature is a link for newbies. There's a link under that link to help get you cycled!

Fish-In Tank Cycling

Hi, I am fairly new to fish keeping and I recently bought a 38 gal freshwater aquarium. About a week ago, I added tetra safe start to my aquarium and my ph is 7.8, ammonia .25ppm, nitrite 0ppm and nitrate 0ppm, can I add some fish now? Or do I need to do something else to get my tank safe for fish?

Hello Pm...

You can add a few fish any time. It's the fish waste that starts the "Nitrogen Cycle". You should use hardy fish. Platys, Guppies, White Clouds and Zebra Danios are good for a smaller tank.

You must have a reliable water testing kit handy, because you'll need to test the water daily for traces of ammonia and nitrite. When you have a positive test result, then you must remove a quarter of the tank water and replace that with pure, treated tap water.

When you have several daily tests that read "0" for the above toxins, then your tank is cycled.

I put stem plants in the tank to help with the cycle. Anacharis and Pennywort worked well.

B

Hello Pm...

You can add a few fish any time. It's the fish waste that starts the "Nitrogen Cycle". You should use hardy fish. Platys, Guppies, White Clouds and Zebra Danios are good for a smaller tank.