Cycling Questions, Newbie First Time

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TankNewbie414

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi I am a complete newbie in the fish owning world. Real quick rewinding to last week. I went to my first fresh water store to get some advice on starting a shrimp tank. Horrible experience for a newbie and just straight up confusing. I had to get most my information online or YouTube after that visit to the store. Theres so much detail I will be leaving out but pretty much before I left the store... I had a 3 Gallon Nano tank, fresh plants, a filter , substrate, chlorine remover and fritz turbo 700 bacteria. I was told I should not use tap and then told I can( I used filtered when I got home). I was told to put in the chlorine remover and then put 1/3 bottle of fritz and my cycle should be done in a week. I had no idea what cycling was still at that time. I started trying to do a fishless cycle 11/21. I did pour the chlorine remover and fritz turbo like the store told me too but I felt something was just plain wrong and was not confident what I was doing was right. Anyways after lots of more research at home, I bought a kit for testing(was not even told about this). I also bought ammonia cause I read that with it being a fishless cycle you need ammonia to jump start cycle. Ya'll.... I'm trying to understand the process. When I started to test the water 11/28 I was at 7ph, 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites , 0 nitrates . So I had put ammonia in it and it was like literally dark 8ppm, so I did a 50% water change and waited 24 hours to test again. 11/29 it read between 4ppm and 2ppm. Fast forward, Today 12/1 I can tell the ammonia has slightly changed to a lesser green. more at the 2ppm. 0 Nitrites but now 5ppm Nitrates. Am I not supposed to see Nitrites spike before Nitrates? I'm confused can someone explain to me :fish2::confused: