did not cycle my fish tank :/

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

emanc

Aquarium Advice Newbie
:banghead: i set up my fish tank its a 60 gallon i have all info in my profile, but i didnt find out that i had to cycle my tank before i put fish in it or anything im new at this hobby. :banghead: i feel stupid and i dont know what i can do i test the water like 5 times a day im scared if my fish will die my nitrates and nitrites are at 0 and PH at 6.6 and ammonia at 0.30 0.50 i did my first water change and ammonia did not seem to go down at all i did about a 25-30% water change i added water conditioner and stress zyme and coat everything that u can think of just did not do a cycle :( tank only has been up for 10 days i need help pleasei dont know what to do.:banghead:

Ok First off Take a Breath and relax your in the right place, you can do still cycle the tank with the fish in it. there is plenty of info on the forums just do a search your sure to find the info you need. I've been away from the hobby for too long to give specific advice hence why I'm reading up on all the stuff I've forgotten.

Hi and welcome. The good thing is that you have a large tank to help dissipate toxins. What fish do you have currently? What test kit are you using? What filter do you have?

A couple of things:
--no need to test 5x a day (although feel free to do so lol). Once or twice is sufficent
--test your tap water for ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate so you know what you're starting with (e.g. there might be ammonia etc in your tap water)