Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-22-2017, 07:58 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 16
elp needed

My PH level and nitrate levels seem to go high in a short amount of time, hours, even after a water change. I have a 55 gallon tank with 2 filters, one of which is cycled, the other is cycling. I have 16 fish in it.
To many fish?
Not sure why PH and Nitrate level go so high in such a short amount of time.

Doug Geib
__________________

__________________
DougInPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 05:12 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 6,918
Take a sample of water and test it straight from tap.Then set it aside for 24 hours and test again..You might want to test it in hours to see if it changes as fast outside the tank?
Likely the nitrAtes are in your tap water..
The Ph changing should either be your water off gassing [off gassing CO2 in this case] and thus the ph changes after exposure to atmospheric air and finally settles at its 'natural value' or is possibly do to rocks or substrate in your tank...
__________________

__________________
Mr.bandit is my YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcS...zPAhmB9QK0UvMA
https://www.aquabid.com/cgi-bin/aucti...er&Coralbandit
^^These are my weekly sales^^ GOT RAMS ???
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 07:53 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Toad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1,204
What kind of fish do you have?
__________________
Toad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 07:55 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Upstate TBarbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Marion, NY
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougInPA View Post
I have a 55 gallon tank with 2 filters, one of which is cycled, the other is cycling. I have 16 fish in it.
To many fish?
I guess that all depends on what the fish are, and the size / type of filters. You probably are not overstocked though. Try the link below.

AqAdvisor - Intelligent Freshwater Tropical Fish Aquarium Stocking Calculator and Aquarium Tank/Filter Advisor
__________________
I test so often, I think I'm doing water changes 5 Milliliters at a time.
Upstate TBarbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some reassurance needed pls pioneer Saltwater Reef Aquaria 17 01-25-2003 08:29 PM
QUICK ANSWER NEEDED goldfish and frogs??? something_fishy Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 12-23-2002 05:59 PM
More advice needed....please pondmom Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 12-14-2002 09:12 AM
Formula Needed BettWalker Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 08-17-2002 03:02 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.