Extremely Hard Water

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

eth0

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi guys, I'm extremely new to the whole fish keeping hobby and I've finally got my first freshwater tank setup and has been running for ~25 hours. I've bought a 120L (26.5 gallon) tank, stand, filter, air pump, bubble stone, ornaments, lights and various live plants. I've filled the tank up with tap water and dechlorinated it as required. To kick start my cycle I managed to get hold of a friends old filter sponges and thus I've used them - great!

I bought a 6 in 1 strip test kit (and recently learned it's pretty much useless but it'll have to do until my API kit comes) which has come back as: NitrAte 10mg/l, Nitrite 0.5mg/l, Chlorine 0, my pH seems pretty spot on at 7.2. My issue lies with my water hardness and amount of carbonate in the water which is reading back as over 20oD for Carbonate and >21oD for "total hardness (GH?)". For my postcode my water hardness is Calcium Carbonate 447.5 mg/l and Calcium 179 mg/l which is VERY HARD.

(I've bought ammonia on-line so waiting for that too arrive to help with the cycle but for the time being I've added a few fish flakes in to the tank.)

So my question is: shall I add more dechlorinator to the tank, buy RO water, use bottled water or just leave it (i.e. will more ammonia help balance it out)? Obviously adding dechlorinator is the easiest and cheapest but I'm unsure if it would upset anything in the tank?

I have no experience with hard water (Mine is so soft it is practically RO!)

But i know that some people with very hard water will use half RO or half distilled water in their tank.

Luckily. a lot of dissolved solids is probably going to assist you in a faster cycle. You might have more of the tiny trace elements that are beneficial.