Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-16-2007, 01:45 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 371
feeding a cycled tank...

Well, I was so proud of the fact that I beat Neilanh out in cycling my new tank. Pride cometh before a fall...

I inherited a new fish a couple of weeks ago to save him from bad fish owners and he returned the favor by passing Ick along to the rest of the gang. Boo! I can honestly say I've never dealt with Ick in all my 7 years as a fish keeper.
Anyhoo, do I keep "feeding" my empty cycled tank until they are ready? I've been holdling it at 2ppm and as of today it is cycling that out in 12 hours. Should I keep it there or up the doseage of ammonia?
Also, how do I keep the hubs from adding tropicals to the new tank and thus condemning the Golds to the 35?
__________________

__________________
locorosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 08:25 AM   #2
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Re: feeding a cycled tank...

Quote:
Originally Posted by locorosa
Well, I was so proud of the fact that I beat Neilanh out in cycling my new tank. Pride cometh before a fall...
First off - that's not nice. But see what happened? that's called karma haha j/k

Quote:
Originally Posted by locorosa
Anyhoo, do I keep "feeding" my empty cycled tank until they are ready? I've been holdling it at 2ppm and as of today it is cycling that out in 12 hours. Should I keep it there or up the doseage of ammonia?
I would keep up exactly what you're doing. A little bit each day just supports the bacteria you have keeping them alive until you stock and have a constant supply from the fish.

Quote:
Originally Posted by locorosa
Also, how do I keep the hubs from adding tropicals to the new tank and thus condemning the Golds to the 35?
You should tear down your tank and wait until the ick clears up, then restart your cycle. That way I can get stocked before you
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 08:43 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SparKy697's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 1,495
Read the article on ICH. There are a few good ways to deal with it. The high temp one seems to come most recommended.

I think you wold want to keep dosing ammonia like neilanh has mentioned. Just don't go crazy with it. There is no need to really keep it as high as you once had it in your cycle. You might also try cutting your normal dose in half and adding it to the tank twice a day instead of only once.
__________________
-Joe
"...but the guy at the LFS said I needed it!"
SparKy697 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 12:24 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 371
Kewl and thanks guys.
I am using the salt method and higher temps for them. We had to buy a heater for that tank anyway...
>
__________________
locorosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 12:28 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
7Enigma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Havertown, PA
Posts: 2,913
I would keep your ammonia dosing where it is now. You can do a PWC if your nitrAtes get really high (say over 100ppm, I've never seen data on longterm effects of bacteria in high nitrAte conditions). That 2ppm in 12 hours will allow you to completely stock at once (depending on fish choice/size).
__________________
Main (20g) - A throng of guppy and platy, Pressurized CO2, Ferts, All Live Plants (Very old pic, new one forthcoming)
https://i902.photobucket.com/albums/a...g?t=1266543023
7Enigma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 01:04 PM   #6
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
I still say you should tear your tank down and start over. haha

I do like Sparky's idea of 1/2 dose twice a day rather than 1 dose, seems to make a lot of sense, but I think either way will work for your purposes.
__________________

__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, cycled, feeding, led, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tank Cycled...Pictures tank & new occupants. @rtemis Show Off/Photography 2 03-15-2008 08:23 PM
Tank cycled schmilnik Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 03-05-2007 10:31 AM
Is my tank ever going to be cycled? jarnism Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 16 07-27-2006 11:47 AM
Has my tank already cycled? elmuyloco5 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 06-21-2005 09:28 PM
How can you tell when your tank has cycled? Tiger_Oscar Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 33 06-20-2005 07:59 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.