Female Black Mollies chasing eachother

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kenzie5216

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I had a tank when I was younger, but my dad helped me, and it was a smaller tank with neons, a beta, and some kind of bottom feeder. Currently I'm just getting started up again. I wanted to cycle my tank with Zebra Danios, however one of them had some kind of fungus, and I showed the fish lady, and didn't buy from that tank. I ended up getting two female Black Mollies, (they only had 2 females and 1 male otherwise I would have gotten males also they were in separate tanks so I don't think either is pregnant) and they're very active and healthy looking, however they keep chasing each other. They are in a 29 gallon tank, and they have places to hide. I know they are a schooling fish, and I will eventually need to get more, however right now i'm just trying to cycle, and establish the tank. I would also like to avoid getting males because I would like to avoid having to deal with fry, especially in a new tank. Will adding more mollies, or another type of fish help? Or are they just playing around and/or establishing dominance?

Thanks in advance for the help!

Could be dominance and more to a school will help. I had 3 in QT and one used to chase the others. All went into DT and this one tried it on a larger male and got 'told off'. Now they mostly seem fine. Mollies I've found will squabble but not to the death.

Sent by iPhone using AA

It actually just seems to be when there is food around. She just chased the other around. Without food they'll hide near the heater and swim together.

Sent from my XT1080 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Well its not only at feeding but mostly. She doesn't want the other fish to eat

Yes - I was getting that. In the DT with more fish they get no time and have to charge in or miss out :)