Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-01-2011, 02:48 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

Fiddler Crab Build

Ok, here is the tank I plan to start my half water, half land fiddler crab and bumblebee goby brackish build. It's disgusting... I have my work cut out for me! It's 36 in long X 12 in wide X 18 in deep. The people I got it from said they thought it was a 30 gal (I feel like it's bigger, but I'm not good at eyeballing these kind of things).

Here are my initial questions.
1. I would really like to paint it black. I'm pretty sure I wouldn't have any problem painting the base, but can you paint the plastic thing that covers the seams? I'm not crazy about the wood grain.
2. I want to have easy live plants. I've been doing some research, but I would love for someone to give me a suggestion (as in, a link) to a fixture that is appropriate for low light, as well as inexpensive. I would like a link because whenever I ask anyone about this I get a lot of language and abbreviations and such that I don't understand. Just tell me what to get! See above for parameters.
3. I have heard about the tetra whisper filters, and am looking into getting one. I was planning to "seed" my tank from my existing 36 gal. Do I just stick the filter media in the filter anywhere? Or does it go in front of or behind? Is there a trick to it? Haha.

Thank you so much in advance for your help. I feel confident that I can do this even in my inexperience because I have all the expertise of the AA members!

Old 08-01-2011, 02:49 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

Crap... pics didn't work. Try this:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v7...y/IMG_5015.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v7...y/IMG_5016.jpg

Old 08-01-2011, 12:06 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic