Fiddler Crab Build

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

TheMurrays

Aquarium Advice Freak
Ok, here is the tank I plan to start my half water, half land fiddler crab and bumblebee goby brackish build. It's disgusting... I have my work cut out for me! It's 36 in long X 12 in wide X 18 in deep. The people I got it from said they thought it was a 30 gal (I feel like it's bigger, but I'm not good at eyeballing these kind of things).

Here are my initial questions.
1. I would really like to paint it black. I'm pretty sure I wouldn't have any problem painting the base, but can you paint the plastic thing that covers the seams? I'm not crazy about the wood grain.
2. I want to have easy live plants. I've been doing some research, but I would love for someone to give me a suggestion (as in, a link) to a fixture that is appropriate for low light, as well as inexpensive. I would like a link because whenever I ask anyone about this I get a lot of language and abbreviations and such that I don't understand. :) Just tell me what to get! See above for parameters.
3. I have heard about the tetra whisper filters, and am looking into getting one. I was planning to "seed" my tank from my existing 36 gal. Do I just stick the filter media in the filter anywhere? Or does it go in front of or behind? Is there a trick to it? Haha.

Thank you so much in advance for your help. I feel confident that I can do this even in my inexperience because I have all the expertise of the AA members! :)

Just remember that fidler crabs have to have a way to get on land. They cannot be under water all the time. Maybe you already knew that.

Just remember that fidler crabs have to have a way to get on land. They cannot be under water all the time. Maybe you already knew that.