First Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mldw13

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi everyone.

My daughter loves fish so I took the plunge and bought a 55 gallon tank. However, upon reflection I am not sure if I trust the store owner's information. I told him I wanted the easiest set up possible (because I am new at this) and perhaps he thought I did not want to do any work at all.

I have set up the tank and I have let it cycle for a few days. If some of you could help me out with some questions I would greatly appreciate it.

What filter is the quietest? Do you recommend a cannister filter and are they hard to set up and maintain?

I want to put African chiclids in the fish tank. The store owner said I should put 20-30 in the tank. That sounds like a lot. My roommate in college had the same size tank and he only had eight chiclids. What would be the right amount?

Can I put an allege eater in with the chiclids?

He gave me some bacteria to put in the tank but I was told not to worry about anything else. What about nitrates? Should I test the water before I put any fish in and what tests should I do?

Thanks for the help - I need it for sure.

Regards - Matt

I'd say 15 is the max cichlids in the tank, and you have to get compatible ones. I don't know what algae eaters can go in so I'll leave that open for somebody else. If he gave you a product called "cycle" return it if you can it won't work. I recommend an HOB filter over a canister, but most people on this board do fine with canisters. You should get a test kit for ammonia, nitrites, nitrates, and ph at least. This should be a test tube kit not a test strip kit as the strips are often inaccurate. The store will probably have a master kit with all you need included.

Welcome to AA!

However, upon reflection I am not sure if I trust the store owner's information.