First Tank Ever

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gamma_draconis

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all,

I'm just beginning to think about setting up what will be my first tank that I've ever had at home.

I thought maybe I could get some advice from ya'll to differentiate among the millions of products I might buy.

These are my thoughts for what I would like the tank to be like and would love suggestions about the specific products I should purchase to maybe make my dream a reality.

Fish: My top priority is having a pleco. I love those guys. I also would like some tetras either cardinals or neons. Other than that I don't really know what else I would like. I've been thinking cichlid but I'm not sure.

Decor: I think having a centerpiece of driftwood would be really great. As for substrate I have no idea what would work well. I'm somewhat interested in having a planted tank but I'm not sure I'm ready to do that yet.

Questions: What size tank would be a good starter size yet leave me enough room to grow as I gain more experience. I'm thinking 30 gal for now but was also wondering if 50 gal might not just give me that extra space in case I need it. As for filters I also have no idea what to get. Obviously something with plenty of surface space for biological as well as mechanical filtration. Will I need powerheads to create currents? Maybe I should just start with some basic equipment and supplement it as I discover what I need.

Anyway, thanks for reading the ramblings of a newbie. I'm excited to get started on my aquarist hobby.

Oh I forgot to mention that I am most certainly planning on doing a fishless cycle and have read up on all the nitrogen cycling literature.

The number one question is what kind of pleco do you want. A common will need a huge tank eventually. If you go with a smaller type pleco than a 30 or a 55 will be perfect.