Fish less cycling - ppm

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Yosiparrish

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi there, I'm a newbie. 12 gal in fish less cycling right now, after I killed a bunch of fish :(. I didn't do my homework and was 100% stupid! Very glad I found this website with all the valuable info. Here are my readings after 9th day, using Api kit:

n1: 7.6. n2: 0. n3: .25, n4: 40. I've been using ground fish foods for the cycling. I countinue adding fish foods whenever n2 drops to 0. I'm thinking of getting ammonia from Ace hardware for the cycling but I don't know how exactly to measure ppm as you advise. My question is: how do I measure 1-2-3-4 ppm as you mention? How many drops of ammonia to obtain 1-2-3-4 ppm or do I just add it blindly and check the ppm from the chart?

I have Java ferns, banana plants and cobombas in tank and they're thriving. I plan to get those glofish back after the tank is actually ready this time. I was told I could have 10 glofish and 2 Siamese. Should I have the same number this time or go for less? Would you give me some advice of how to stock them this time and what is best for my little tank?

Thank you so much for your guidance.

I've used the bottles ammonia method before with success.

Here is a dosing calculator you can use. Due to the small tank(I did dosing on a 75g) you may need to be extra specific on dosing.

http://www.hamzasreef.com/Contents/Calculators/AmmoniaCycling.php

I came up with 1.27mL to achieve 3.0ppm ammonia using the info you gave and assuming the tank temperature was 75 degrees F.

Hope this helps :)

Caleb