Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-14-2007, 08:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Fishless Cycle Ammonia Question

I am preparing to start a fish less cycle with my 30G freshwater tank and purchased some ACE Hardware Ammonia Janitorial Strength Formula which seems to be the most recommended on this forum. It didn't foam when shaken but i thought i would do the test with a glass and diluted in water to see if it felt slippery. When i performed this test it did feel slippery so now i am confused as to whether i should use it or not? I know it is highly recommended but this has caused me some concern. Any advice would be appreciated.
__________________

__________________
Tyederian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 08:55 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SparKy697's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 1,495
Read the label carefully. Look for any other ingredients other than the ammonia, often ammonium hydroxide (Pardon the spelling). The key red flags are color, scent, soap, surfactants, and pretty much anything other than ammonia is a bad thing. I'll get my bottle and take a picture and post it for you. Gimme a few minutes.
__________________

__________________
-Joe
"...but the guy at the LFS said I needed it!"
SparKy697 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 08:58 PM   #3
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Welcome to AA!

I'm currently cycling with the ace hardware stuff, and many others have as well. The key with that stuff is that there's no added surfactants, colors/dyes, perfumes/scents. It's those things that will be troublesome. It is a chemical, so it is going to have it's own "feel" to it. Remember that you're going to be adding very small amounts of this to your tank anyway, so think about how diluted it's going to be. I never thought to play with it to see if it foamed or was slippery though, but I will tell you that if you get it on your skin, and you have a cut, you're going to regret it

I think it was Sparky697 that came up with this formula for using that 10% solution, which has been really close to right on.

0.34ml per 10 gallons = 1ppm change

So, for a 30 gallon tank, 1ml = 1ppm.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 08:59 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Yea i read all the labels, had to look in several different places and they all had things such as surfacants. The only ingredient listed on the bottle is just 10% ammonium hydroxide listed on the front. Other than that it should be the same thing that has been recommended on the site, the brand and name is the same?
__________________
Tyederian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 09:14 PM   #5
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
sounds exactly like what I'm using, I think you're good to go.

Your tank's filled, aerated, and filtering? Also a good idea to raise the temp to the 85ish range.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 09:25 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SparKy697's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 1,495
Ok here is the bottle I use.

There actually is not an ingredients list. I assume because there are none other than the ammonium hydroxide.

HTH

BTW, make sure that you read the articles on fishless cycle and the nitrogen cycle. Notice how I craftily added links to them in my sig
__________________
-Joe
"...but the guy at the LFS said I needed it!"
SparKy697 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 09:26 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Yes, i have everything set up I was just preparing to start the cycle. I had just read a lot of horror stories about the wrong ammonia and of manufacturers changing their product so i wanted to make sure instead of having to take the tank back down and clean it and what not. Thanks for the Replies so far though its been very helpful.

I would like to see that picture though Sparky697, I saw on the ACE website that the small bottle of ammonia they have on their has a different label than the one i got at the hardware. The label on the one i purchased is more similar to the larger size they have for sale on the website.

*edit* Thanks for the picture Sparky, that is exactly the bottle i have, now i can get this cycle started!
__________________
Tyederian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 10:01 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Marconis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Queens, NY
Posts: 2,082
I am jealous of all these lucky and smart people who didn't use Stop & Shop brand
Marconis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 10:03 PM   #9
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Same stuff I got too!

Yeah, I had to go to 4 different places, I ended up driving like 30 miles to the "nearest" (I use that term loosely) Ace hardware to me.

Now, get your cycle going. Keep a log of your readings, doses, etc, may come in handy. And post pics of your tank!
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 11:35 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SparKy697's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 1,495
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marconis
I am jealous of all these lucky and smart people who didn't use Stop & Shop brand
Man, I can't tell you how bad I feel for all of your trouble. I know one thing, few people will appreciate a aquarium as much as you will.
__________________
-Joe
"...but the guy at the LFS said I needed it!"
SparKy697 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 11:55 PM   #11
Sliced Bread
 
neilanh's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 8,482
Quote:
Originally Posted by SparKy697

Man, I can't tell you how bad I feel for all of your trouble. I know one thing, few people will appreciate a aquarium as much as you will.
And think of how many people you saved from doing the same thing by having your thread here.

That may not feel very beneficial right now, but one day it will.
__________________
~Neilan
In the DC Metro Area? Check out GWAPA and WAMAS
neilanh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 11:57 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
I know you saved me a lot of worry Sparky
__________________
Tyederian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 01:33 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 371
Marconis...I feel bad for you too. I concure with Sparky, you should love that new tank like few can.
I also concure with Neilanh, we need pictures from both of you!
__________________
locorosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2007, 07:49 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 104
I used the ACE Brand. (The touch-silkiness test needs to be done on just washed/rinsed glass containers, with clean hands too. So I wouldn't sweat it.)
__________________

__________________
NeonJulie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ammonia, cycle, fishless, fishless cycle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fishless cycle: ammonia source? AdamHorton Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 11-11-2009 09:37 PM
ammonia for fishless cycle missgingersnap Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 02-26-2009 06:35 AM
can ammonia be too high in a fishless cycle? europas_ice Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 04-05-2006 10:25 AM
Fishless Cycle: Too much ammonia? cee219 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 03-18-2005 02:25 PM
Fishless/ Ammonia Cycle Kohan Bros. Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 02-19-2005 04:14 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.