Fishless Cycle and not sure if I'm doing it right!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Mordecai

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to fishless cycling and just recently set up my 10 gallon aquarium for my betta and I was wondering if my tank is on track or if I need to do anything. I've read so many articles and everyone has a different opinion so I am totally confused. I am using the pure ammonia method. Purchased my ammonia at Ace Hardware.

May 16:
Dosed tank to 4 ppm ammonia

May 17:
No change in ammonia

May 18th:
Ammonia: 2 ppm
Nitrites: 1ppm
PH: 7.6

Dosed tank back to 4 ppm

May 19th:
Ammonia: between 2-4 ppm
Nitrites: 5 ppm
Nitrates 5 ppm
PH: 7.6 and on high: 8.0

May 20th:
Ammonia: 2 ppm
Nitrites: 5 ppm
Nitrates: 5 ppm
PH: 7.6 and on high: 8.0

May 21st:
Ammonia: 1 ppm
Nitrites: 5 ppm (bright purple)
Nitrates: 5 ppm
PH. 7.6 and tested high: 8.0

Dosed tank back to 3 ppm

Is my tank on track and if so how long does it normally take for the ammonia level to start to lower to zero or even .25 or .50 in a day? Any help would be great. Did I also mention that this is only my 2nd fish tank and my first fish tank I set up I have no clue how my fish ever lived.

The fact that you already have nitrates is a very good sign. Keep working your plan. Nitrites spikes way high and out of measurable range. Then just one day it was 0. Just stay with it!

Also the fact that it took one day to process 1ppm of ammonia is good. I would now focus on measuring your nitrites now. The ammonia break down process seems to be working properly. I believe you are fully cycled when it can process 3 ppm of ammonia in 12 hours. But I could be mistaken on that.

But at this point you should be tracking your nitrites now. Nitrites processing bacteria takes longer then the ammonia based on experience and research. Just be patient.