Fishless cycle help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MrsLoxy

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Welp after being a total noob and introducing my betta to a brand new 5.5 gallon tank and freaking out 5 days later when the tank was mad cloudy and he was so upset, I decided to google. Realized you had to do a cycle and that I was probably burning our little Epic alive. I abandoned ship, put him back in his one gallon and after spending a hundred bucks on stuff I was missing am now in the middle of fishlessly cycling his 5 gallon mansion :)

I am about 2 weeks into his cycle with fish food. I needed some help deciphering if we are on the right track.

Ammonia level is at 2 - 4ppm
Nitrite at .25ppm
Nitrate at 10 - 20ppm

Does that sound about right?

Welcome!
It looks like its on track. IMO you should have him in the 5.5g tank and be doing a fish in cycle. He is in an uncycled 1 gallon bowl that will be constantly cycling and will need a large water change every 1-2 days. IMO he would be better off in the larger tank with more water to dilute the toxins and water changes (which you should be doing on the bowl anyway).
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/artic...g-but-I-already-have-fish-What-now/Page2.html

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f12/fish-in-cycling-step-over-into-the-dark-side-176446.html

BEGINNERS GUIDE
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/artic...-to-Starting-a-Freshwater-Aquarium/Page1.html

Looks good to me. You could test your tap water to just to see what you're starting with in terms of levels.