Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-01-2009, 05:13 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wiltshire UK
Posts: 37
Question Fishless cycle query

Approx. how long does a fishless cycle take - I appreciate not one is going to be the same.

OK I've got my new (second-hand) tank (200l).

It was pretty dirty - but spent the day cleaning and scrubbing.

Not quite ready to bring it indoors yet, but when I do I am going to do the fishless cycle.

I have a few fish in my biorb which I intend to transfer over once ready.

Also, am I right in thinking that transferring the biorb water would be beneficial too as its well established and levels are all good?

I think it will be within the next two weeks I shall start the cycle - depending on me buying more furniture to house these fish tanks!!!

Ta
Jan
__________________

__________________
JJ
witch-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 06:19 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
marchmaxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,209
Send a message via Skype™ to marchmaxima
Assuming you are starting from scratch and don't seed your tank using any filter media from an established aquarium it will take *roughly* 4 weeks.

I documented a fishless cycle. You might be interested to take a look to see what to expect.

My Cycle

HTH.
__________________

__________________
Sharon : Melbourne, Australia
Me on Twitter
4x4x2 FW planted | 15g FW planted | 3.5g FW planted pico
marchmaxima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 06:27 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wiltshire UK
Posts: 37
Thanks - your dates could match mine

I'm off to find a source of amonia from local fish selling shops! And new foam for the rather disgusting filter I received.

Its all very exciting - after purchasing my biorb and then realising that actually only a few fish isn't enough for me! I felt spoilt for choice, but had no choice!!! Hence my move to a much bigger tank.
__________________
JJ
witch-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 09:07 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wisconin
Posts: 170
Fish shops typically will carry the commercial starter products - which seem to get mixed reviews.

Not sure about finding pure ammonia where you are (sans surfactants, fragrance, etc) but you might find it in a hardware/housewares store.

You might try the prawn method to get the ammonia going.

Looks like you already have an established tank - that should speed things along!

Good luck and let us know how it goes!

LAXPatrick
__________________
laxpatrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 12:16 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Wiltshire UK
Posts: 37
No luck finding it - you were right!! Only starter stuff they had was to rid of amonia - the man looked at me as if I was mad wanting to add not rid amonia fortunately the other assistant understood, and said about frozen fish etc.

So its food source for me!

Itching to get started - so much so that I've sneaked some new fish in my daughters tank to look after for me

I know, patience, patience - at least her tank had room and is established enough.
__________________
JJ
witch-1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 05:06 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
marchmaxima's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 1,209
Send a message via Skype™ to marchmaxima
Add a few fish food pellets. They're a good source of ammonia and don't come with the associated risk of introducing a pathogen to your tank.
__________________
Sharon : Melbourne, Australia
Me on Twitter
4x4x2 FW planted | 15g FW planted | 3.5g FW planted pico
marchmaxima is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 09:32 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
jim692's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: southeast, PA.
Posts: 387
If you are looking for "pure ammonia" for fishless cycling in the UK,
check out this link.
Fishkeeping - Household Ammonia information [Forums - General Information]
"Enzo Household Ammonia" 9.6% solution is supposed to be fairly easy to
get at a chemists or SuperBuys or Homebase.

Hope that helps.
__________________

__________________
Jim
jim692 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycle, fishless, fishless cycle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fishless cycle query marchmaxima Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 03-02-2008 03:53 PM
Fishless Cycle? SeriousDude5 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 7 03-03-2007 03:51 PM
The fishless cycle GoodFish Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 04-14-2005 04:01 PM
first fishless cycle! fishyfishyfishy Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 11-08-2004 06:28 PM
fishless cycle wt1961 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 07-06-2003 09:59 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.