Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-08-2002, 06:52 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN / Las Vegas,NV
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to pondmom Send a message via Yahoo to pondmom
Fishless Cycling

OK~
So the tank is up and running and thought I'd try this fishless cycle since I didn't want to subject any of my fish to the "cycle of death".

The tank is 120gal and I added about 3/4C ammonia and the reading is at 6ppm (is this too high) If so, I will do a water change to bring the ammonia level down a bit. Whats next?
Do I wait for Nitrites to show?
I couldn't run these filters in the basement pond as they are gravity fed and there was not enough height difference to get the filters going.
I think with one of the filters I can add a few bioballs to the chamber (looks like there's room)
I have yet to add plants ( I want real ) but I know the koi will destroy them, so artificial will have to do.
What else am I missing?
You guy's have been SO supportive~ Thanks you!!!!! Thanks you!!!!!!!
As soon as the canopy is made, I'll post pictures.
Since filling it last night (45min) I have bubbles on the tank and they arn't the prettiest to take a pic of and show.
So~ if anyone has info on the Fishless Cycle, please don't hesitate to expand. I appreciate it!!

Happy Holidays
__________________

__________________
Happy Ponding
~pondmom
https://community.webshots.com/user/pondmom39
5000gal + outdoor pond
125 gal FW tank
pondmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2002, 11:55 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
cycling

Yeah, 6ppm is a little high...2ppm is plenty. Let it sit until you see the ammonia start to drop. When the ammonia gets to 0, add just enough to read on the test kit. About .25 ppm is plenty. You should see the nitrite spike soon. Add ammonia in very small amounts during this as you don't want to lose your bacteria. After the nitrite starts to fall off, you are very close to being ready for fish. Add ammonia, after the nitrites have dropped, to bring the level up to .25 ppm again. It should disappear quickly. Then you're ready to slowly add fish. Don't put them all in at once. Add a fish...let the biofilter adjust. Add another fish...let it adjust again. Be very diligent about testing for both ammonia and nitrite during this stage. After you have added the last fish, and have seen no trace of ammonia or nitrite for at least a week, you're good to go.
Logan J
__________________

__________________
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 07:46 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN / Las Vegas,NV
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to pondmom Send a message via Yahoo to pondmom
Logan,

Do you think I should carry out a small waterchange to bring the ammonia down? Or should I leave it??
I can do either....
Thanks again & Have a great Day
__________________
Happy Ponding
~pondmom
https://community.webshots.com/user/pondmom39
5000gal + outdoor pond
125 gal FW tank
pondmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2002, 10:46 PM   #4
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
ammonia

I'd probably change a little water and bring it down a little. You could, instead of adding ammonia to the water, go with the dead shrimp thing. Drop a shrimp in the just wait till things settle down. With that method, you don't have to add any ammonia because the decaying shrimp will keep adding small amounts which will keep the bacteria fed. I have cycled filters both ways. It's not a terribly exact science...there are many ways to do it. As long as ammonia is present, the bacteria will grow. Just watch the levels and before you know it, you'll be ready for the first fish.
Logan J
__________________
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2002, 08:27 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN / Las Vegas,NV
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to pondmom Send a message via Yahoo to pondmom
This may sound stupid but.....
When you say "dead shrimp" are you referring to the shrimp ready to eat in the bad or a "real" dead shrimp found at the local super market in the meat department (head, whiskers & tail)

Not sure if I'd want to put that in my new tank
Wouldn't want to look at it.

I did change 20% of the water yesterday but the ammonia was still up at 6ppm.
I'll change out some more today.

Thanks Logan
__________________
Happy Ponding
~pondmom
https://community.webshots.com/user/pondmom39
5000gal + outdoor pond
125 gal FW tank
pondmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2002, 12:41 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
shrimp

Yeah...dead grocery store variety shrimp. You could put it in a mesh filter bag and hang it on the side somewhere. The method you're using will work OK too though. Just a little more work which, from what I've seen so far, is not something that bothers you much . You may see a bacterial bloom that turns your water cloudy for a while...it'll go away. You can always change a little more water too. This is the hardest part...harder than all the work...waiting. And waiting. And waiting. In the end though, you will have a good environment to start adding your fish and they should experience minimal stress. Koi are tough anyway. I can't wait to see the pics of the finished tank with the fish in it...gonna be NICE.
Logan J
__________________
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2002, 08:32 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN / Las Vegas,NV
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to pondmom Send a message via Yahoo to pondmom
Now I have read several fishless cycle articles and they say if the ammonia reading goes off the charts it ok. Do I continue adding ammonia daily till I get a nitrite reading> Or do I just leave the ammonia where it's at and "wait" for a reading (that wasn't too clear)
I did take the filters from the 30g tank to seed the 120g. I also think i'm gonna add a few bioballs from the ponds in the basement. Hopefully that will get things moving a bit
You're right Logan about waiting It's VERY hard waiting!!
I guess what i'm gonna miss most when I move a few of the koi is them eating out of my hand It's truely amazing how wonderful these creatures are!! I really believe that they grow to know & trust us (just like a dog/cat) And it's GREAT!!
My 9" Kohaku slips right into the palm of my hand and let's me tickle her belly I know she like's that.
I'll get a pic & show ya'll.....

Have a wonderful day
__________________
Happy Ponding
~pondmom
https://community.webshots.com/user/pondmom39
5000gal + outdoor pond
125 gal FW tank
pondmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2002, 11:03 AM   #8
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chatsworth, GA
Posts: 4,071
Send a message via Yahoo to loganj
fishless cycle

You don't have to add ammonia every day. Just don't let it drop all the way to 0. When it gets down to .25-.5, you could add some with an dropper. After the nitrite levels out, you should be able to add a very small amount of ammonia and have it disappear very quickly.
Logan J
__________________
loganj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2002, 09:29 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Portsmouth
Posts: 43
Try this!!

Heres a little site i found very useful.(It has the biology student seal of approval!)But not too technical, and dont take the numbers of days too rigidly, it will take how long it takes!!

http://puffernet.tripod.com/nitrogencycle.html


Good luck!!!
__________________
JurassicRIP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2002, 10:11 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN / Las Vegas,NV
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to pondmom Send a message via Yahoo to pondmom
Here are the results from this mornings test.
Ammonia~6ppm
Nitrites~1ppm
Nitrates~5.0ppm

How does this look?
Now what?
Do I just wait for all readings to hit 0?
It'll be 2 weeks tomorrow since I added the ammonia

Feel free to post comments
__________________
Happy Ponding
~pondmom
https://community.webshots.com/user/pondmom39
5000gal + outdoor pond
125 gal FW tank
pondmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 05:06 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN / Las Vegas,NV
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to pondmom Send a message via Yahoo to pondmom
Test results (exactly 2 weeks today since adding ammonia)

Ammonia~6ppm
Nitrites~ 5ppm
Nitrate~10

Do these #'s mean I'm getting closer to being cycled?
I know I have to wait for the readings to drop, but I have read that they should start to drop once they have "spiked"
Is this true
__________________
Happy Ponding
~pondmom
https://community.webshots.com/user/pondmom39
5000gal + outdoor pond
125 gal FW tank
pondmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2002, 05:20 PM   #12
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
How much ammonia did you add?

Are you saying your test kit is reading 6.0 ppm of ammonia? Thats like way high. I am suprised it has not gone down. What did it peak at?
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2002, 11:50 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN / Las Vegas,NV
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to pondmom Send a message via Yahoo to pondmom
Fishfreak,

The ammonia peaked at 6ppm and now my nitrites are peaking as well.
I added enough ammonia to reach the 6ppm mark(inicial dose) and now I haven't added any more.
I have a data sheet that I printed out from the internet(the tropicaltank.co.uk/flc-data.htm)
Should I do a partial water change?
I'm hoping that the #'s will start to drop within the next few days as the nitrites have peaked, and nitrates are detected.
Fill me in if I am incorrect.~please.....& Thank you
__________________
Happy Ponding
~pondmom
https://community.webshots.com/user/pondmom39
5000gal + outdoor pond
125 gal FW tank
pondmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2002, 07:05 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN / Las Vegas,NV
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to pondmom Send a message via Yahoo to pondmom
After 3 weeks of fishless cycle,
I drained the tank, refilled, and bought 6 large Danio's.

I was getting so frustrated I gave up
My ammonia didn't want to budge at 6ppm
Nitrites were 5ppm and holding strong.

Thats when I did waterchanges over a few days to get ammonia to 0 and nitrites to 1ppm.
I added salt to the tank prior to adding the fish.
I have to say, it really wasn't worth the 3 weeks.
If fish were added right at the start, I'd be almost done

Oh well~ live & learn
Here's the new guys in the tank.

Happy New Year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Happy Ponding
~pondmom
https://community.webshots.com/user/pondmom39
5000gal + outdoor pond
125 gal FW tank
pondmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2002, 07:08 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN / Las Vegas,NV
Posts: 267
Send a message via AIM to pondmom Send a message via Yahoo to pondmom
After 3 weeks of fishless cycle,
I drained the tank, refilled, and bought 6 large Danio's.

I was getting so frustrated I gave up
My ammonia didn't want to budge at 6ppm
Nitrites were 5ppm and holding strong.

Thats when I did waterchanges over a few days to get ammonia to 0 and nitrites to 1ppm.
I added salt to the tank prior to adding the fish.
I have to say, it really wasn't worth the 3 weeks.
If fish were added right at the start, I'd be almost done

Oh well~ live & learn
.

Happy New Year!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________

__________________
Happy Ponding
~pondmom
https://community.webshots.com/user/pondmom39
5000gal + outdoor pond
125 gal FW tank
pondmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling, fishless, fishless cycling

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why FISHLESS cycling??? hashbaz Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 14 04-14-2010 03:32 PM
Fishless cycling? goldfishlover101 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 07-30-2009 01:02 AM
Fishless cycling black udder Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 06-17-2007 05:48 PM
Cycling the fishless way Danio35 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 25 01-09-2005 01:33 PM
fishless cycling Moe36 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 08-27-2003 10:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.