Fishless Cylce: Nitrites won't go down!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

MadCapLaughs

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have a ~10 gallon tank that I've been trying to cycle for 21 days now. I started by dosing Dr. Tim's ammonium-chloride to around 2ppm ammonia. About 6 days in I started to test and get readings for nitrites.
Within those 21 days, ammonia has dropped to 0 (I've redosed to 2ppm on the 26th, and ammonia still reads 0), and I have readings for nitrates (Using the API Freshwater Master Test Kit). However, for 2 weeks now, nitrites have remained at a constant 2-5ppm (reads a true purple. My eyesight isn't the best so not sure if it reads 2 or 5ppm nitrites), despite having done 3 PWCs. :(
Temperature sits at around 68F (20C), so perhaps the cooler water is slowing down the cycle? I really don't know.
This is my first time cycling a tank and I'm really at a loss as to what to do. Should I just keep waiting? Another WC? Any advice is more than welcomed!!

The cooler water will indeed slow bacteria growth, think about your ham sandwich on the counter vs in the fridge. Sorta the same theory. Takes about 6-8 weeks to fully cycle a tank, so be patient and keep doing what your doing. Your almost there!

You are right where i would expect to be after 3 weeks of fishless cycle. Typical fishless cycle is 4 to 6 weeks, and you look to be about 50% through.

How long does it take for 2ppm ammonia to drop to 0ppm?

Getting the nitrites to start dropping normally takes longer than ammonia, and every 1ppm ammonia you dose turns to 2.7ppm nitrite so you also have to cycle out higher concentrations.

You are right about the temperature. 28c is the optimum temperature for growing beneficial bacteria.

Do water changes to keep the nitrite within readable range.