freshwater Aquarium Novice Help Please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

grounded_plane

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi to everyone,

Okay, I am a complete novice when it comes to freshwater Aquariums. I started one and all my fish are dead, due to my lack of knowledge and inexperience, which I am setting to put right now, with the help of you guys. So thanks in advance.

Okay story so far.

I have a 10 gallon fresh water tank. I had 4 regular gold fish (28 cent kind). They all got fin rot I believe due to the excessive amounts of ammonia I believe. I overfed the fish and hence they died. Also, on bad advice from a Walmart Associate, I also put in an Algae eater, not sure of the name of them, but a small little black guy with spots on him, any way he also died. He kept on attacking the Goldfish.

Right now, I have the tank running about 12 days. Preformed about 3 15-25% water changes and the water is clear.

My first question is, with the fish dying and the tank empty, is it better to start a fresh with tank, by that I mean remove all water and stone ect, or keep with my current environment and try and get the levels of the water to a normal level?

Right now, I can skim the bottom of the tank and a lot of rotten food and fish poo is in the tank? Is this good or bad given my tank has no fish and is `12 days old?

I don’t own a tester, but I am going to get one and I also do not plan to put any fish in until I test water and get it to good levels.

My second question is, what is the best type of fish to start out with in a tank and how many should I start with?

I don’t have a water heater right now, but I live in Florida, I may get one soon though.