Future 55 gallon plans

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jhawk__

Aquarium Advice Addict
My parents finally agreed to let me get a 55 gallon. I've been going back and fourth on if I should make it saltwater or freshwater.

I've learned so much about freshwater on the forum and now know how to properly go at taking care of a freshwater tank.

I've never done saltwater before and have no clue on care or anything. Would I need a sump? (Don't know what a sump really is) Do saltwater tanks require a different filter than freshwater? How do I do water changes ?!

I know saltwater is much more expensive but money isn't a problem , but over the past few months, I've also realized I can create a beautiful freshwater tank as well. I've figured out tons of new fish I can stock instead of the typical guppy or tetra.

I don't know anything about corals, plants, or fish for saltwater.

I think saltwater would be a fun challenge, but a freshwater tank would be a fun and easy build to enjoy.

Will Someone please chime in and give me some basic info and care on saltwater tanks so I know the gist. :)

THANK YOU :D

Yes you would need a sump. It usually sits in the stand or on the floor and its like a filter for your water. I tried salt for a year. I found it too hard. It takes much longer to establish the tank it seemed to me. Maybe go on the saltwater forum and get some opinion from some salty aquarists?

Also something to consider, a salt tank can weigh a lot more than fresh planted due to all the live rock.

Here's a picture of a sump I had.

Attachments

• IMG-20120707-00389.jpg
    IMG-20120707-00389.jpg
    65.6 KB · Views: 43
  • IMG-20120707-00391.jpg
    IMG-20120707-00391.jpg
    82.2 KB · Views: 47