Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-15-2008, 06:43 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rob28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: chicago
Posts: 440
fw quarantine tank

So as many of you may know i have a 55gal tank that is currently undergoing high water temp treatment for ich do to not using a quarantine tank method to introducing new fish.

I have a 5 gal with an hob filter and a small airstone and a 15 watt light in the fixture.
my questions are as follows:
1) is this a good enough tank for the purpose
2) do i need to cycle the tank
3) can i have the tank up and running all the time even if fish are not currently quarantined
4) if sick fish are quarantined, what do i do to tank after treatment

i did do a quick search on this but did not find much so if there is a sticky somewhere please point it out.
thanks
__________________

__________________
"Why So Serious"
joker

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SIftOkWbLWo
rob28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 06:54 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Alaris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob28 View Post
So as many of you may know i have a 55gal tank that is currently undergoing high water temp treatment for ich do to not using a quarantine tank method to introducing new fish.

I have a 5 gal with an hob filter and a small airstone and a 15 watt light in the fixture.
my questions are as follows:
1) is this a good enough tank for the purpose
2) do i need to cycle the tank
3) can i have the tank up and running all the time even if fish are not currently quarantined
4) if sick fish are quarantined, what do i do to tank after treatment

i did do a quick search on this but did not find much so if there is a sticky somewhere please point it out.
thanks
1) A 5gal will suffice depending on how many fish you get at a time. I suggest also getting a heater.
2) Yes the tank needs to be cycled. You can either run the 5g filter on the 55g for a couple weeks, or take filter media from the 55g and add it to the 5g's filter.
3) Yes you can have it running. If there are no fish in it, I suggest running the 5g filter on your 55g to keep the bacteria alive in the filter and then add it to the 5g before you add fish.
4) The treatment is going to kill your bacteria. So go ahead and take the tank apart and clean it and everything with bleach or vinegar to disinfect it.

For a QT tank, you'll want to qt the fish for at least 4 weeks, if not 6-8 weeks. So the tank must be cycled, filtered, aerated, and heated. As for will the tank be big enough for your fish, remember that for a QT tank you can consider the current size of the fish instead of the adult size of the fish.
__________________

__________________
10 gallon FW ~ male betta, 3 pygmy corys, 3 oto cats, java fern, java moss
Alaris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 07:05 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rob28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: chicago
Posts: 440
thanks
__________________
"Why So Serious"
joker

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SIftOkWbLWo
rob28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 07:08 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Jnam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 757
A agree with alaris. I just keep the "filter pad" in with my 55's HOB filter between uses to insta cycle the new tank. My QT is 2.5 gallons which works well for me. its also bare bottom and only a few fake plants and a small tunnel for the hiders... And believe Alaris when he says that treatments will kill the bacteria I treated a Molly for Fin Rot with Tea Tree Oil and it destroyed the biological filter and caused a mini cycle after I moved the Molly out PWC are a HUGE must when treating ill fish with any medication (follow the directions of the medication though if it tells you not to). Good luck and its nice to see someone else jumping on the QT tank wagon.
__________________
~Jason

36 BowFront Reef
LED PoweredPlanted 3G Picotope (Build thread)
Jnam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 07:10 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rob28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: chicago
Posts: 440
will putting the filter back into the 55gal after treatment hurt the 55 at all?
__________________
"Why So Serious"
joker

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SIftOkWbLWo
rob28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 07:13 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rob28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: chicago
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jnam View Post
Good luck and its nice to see someone else jumping on the QT tank wagon.
well, with as much trouble as it is treating my 55gal. it just makes sence to use a qt.
__________________
"Why So Serious"
joker

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SIftOkWbLWo
rob28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 08:00 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
gheitman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Champaign, Illinois
Posts: 1,260
Send a message via MSN to gheitman Send a message via Yahoo to gheitman
It would probably be a good idea to disinfect the filter before putting it back on your main tank. You will also want to remove any carbon from the filter before using it in your QT.
__________________
Gene Heitman - 12 tanks (11 freshwater and 1 saltwater), 206 gallons, 20+ species of fish/shrimp/snails, 52+ species of plants ... 10 years ago I just wanted 1 tank with some fish
gheitman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2008, 08:36 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
Quote:
Originally Posted by rob28 View Post
will putting the filter back into the 55gal after treatment hurt the 55 at all?
If the the filter is going to the same aquarium as the fish and you didn't have to treat for disease, then there is no reason not to simply move it over. On the other hand if you did have to treat for disease, then I would go ahead and disinfect the filter first.
Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 01:50 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
rob28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: chicago
Posts: 440
Quote:
Originally Posted by purrbox View Post
if the the filter is going to the same aquarium as the fish and you didn't have to treat for disease, then there is no reason not to simply move it over. On the other hand if you did have to treat for disease, then i would go ahead and disinfect the filter first.
thanks
__________________

__________________
"Why So Serious"
joker

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SIftOkWbLWo
rob28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
quarantine, quarantine tank, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quarantine Tank brianf40us Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 12-13-2008 09:09 PM
Quarantine Tank faerykisses General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 11-22-2005 01:07 PM
Quarantine tank DiverDown General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 09-15-2005 10:39 AM
Quarantine Tank Ximat Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 14 02-13-2005 01:15 PM
Quarantine tank? acid_burn Saltwater & Reef - Sick Fish or Coral 4 03-18-2004 06:28 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.