Glofish Help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sauce

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi All,

First i would like to thank anyone who takes the time to read and possibly help me out. I’m new to fish keeping and tomorrow marks 5 weeks I have had my tank and it seems every day, I find myself stressing out about if my fish are stressed. 5 weeks ago I was shopping fish tanks and saw this cool 20 gallon hexagon fish tank on sale so I bought it. The guy at the fish store tells me I should add this bottle he gives me into the tank and run my filter for 24 hours and then come back and have them test the water before adding any fish so i did just that. 24 hours go by and everything checks out and i buy my first 6 glofish tetras. I bring them home and half of them were at top of the tank gasping for air. So immediately i did research and found out about the oxygen in the tank and i went out and bought an air pump and all that and it did the job. That night i kept doing research and found out about the nitrogen cycle and the following day i bought a bunch of API stuff including the test kit and looked up how to do proper water changes. I’ve been monitoring every day and after a month it seemed like the water levels are okay except the ammonia gets high every couple days which i thought was normal because of the fish and waste so i decided to add two more glofish tetras and Three days ago i added 5 albino cory cats. Just like most days anytime i saw the fish acting weird i tested water and if ammonia was high i just did a water change. Now finally today i noticed my fish not being active as usual and when i tried to feed them only like half of them ate. I noticed one of my blue tetras staying towards the top of the tank and i’m not sure why and i wanted to reach out. I will list my tank details below if it helps. Sorry for the long post but i just want t