Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-20-2021, 03:53 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 7
Goldfish Tank setup... Poor condition

Hi guys,

So basically my neighbours built this tank and added 8 comet goldfish and 4 others which I cannot figure out what exactly they are.

The tank seems to be in a poor condition so I decided to post here for help. Please let me know what changes I gotta make and any plants you'd suggest or any cleaning team.

Please take a look at the photos.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	16347126987398692364731101578090.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	218.8 KB
ID:	322034   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG-20211020-WA0010.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	86.5 KB
ID:	322035  


__________________
kk1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 01:18 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 118
Any idea what they’ve got for filtration?

I’d assume this thing sees direct sunlight as it appears to be outdoors. I’d also venture a guess that what you are seeing there is just an algae bloom which is common for newer setups until the nutrient levels stabilize.

If water quality tests fine,(ammonia, nitrates, nitrites,ect) I would shade it from direct sunlight to slow down the algae some people have gone as far as putting a cover over the whole aquarium and keeping it dark for several days to try and kill the algae.

I’m not sure that theory would work so well as the algae will be back as soon as the tank gets light anyways. You can try the magic bottles from a Pet shop but I think it’s just something that has to run it’s course
__________________
ColdKoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 05:03 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdKoi View Post
Any idea what theyíve got for filtration?

Iíd assume this thing sees direct sunlight as it appears to be outdoors. Iíd also venture a guess that what you are seeing there is just an algae bloom which is common for newer setups until the nutrient levels stabilize.

If water quality tests fine,(ammonia, nitrates, nitrites,ect) I would shade it from direct sunlight to slow down the algae some people have gone as far as putting a cover over the whole aquarium and keeping it dark for several days to try and kill the algae.

Iím not sure that theory would work so well as the algae will be back as soon as the tank gets light anyways. You can try the magic bottles from a Pet shop but I think itís just something that has to run itís course
There are no filters.
They aren't in direct sunlight because the tank is surrounded by high Walls so the shade falls upon it.

I wanted to add some plants to it and some other tank mates.
__________________
kk1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 05:44 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 118
Is there any rock/gavel/ect on the bottom? With no filtration and that kind of bioload you need somewhere for the beneficial bacteria to live.

Definitely be a good idea to add some more plants. With stagnant water like that, anything to help increase o2 levels isn’t a bad idea
__________________
ColdKoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 06:05 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdKoi View Post
Is there any rock/gavel/ect on the bottom? With no filtration and that kind of bioload you need somewhere for the beneficial bacteria to live.

Definitely be a good idea to add some more plants. With stagnant water like that, anything to help increase o2 levels isn’t a bad idea
I didn't think substrate is a good idea given curiosity of goldfish. They nibble on everything.
What fish are good to go with them?

I've placed a few rocks for the bacteria to grow on if that helps.
__________________
kk1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2021, 06:56 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 118
I think you’re going to Have to add some substrate. Either washed gravel (large enough they can’t get in their mouth or try to, or small such as aquarium substrate that they can spit out without trouble)

As it stands, that’s a pretty good bioload for that size of pond (what are the dimensions or water volume if you know?). It’s going to take a fair bit of surface area for enough beneficial bacteria to grow to allow the pond to cycle.

In my pond, which is substantially larger, I have a mix of koi, comets and a couple mixed flavours of fancy goldfish. They all seem to get along good, in the evenings when the sun starts to drop they can usually be seen swimming in a large group around the shoreline
__________________
ColdKoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2021, 06:44 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdKoi View Post
I think youíre going to Have to add some substrate. Either washed gravel (large enough they canít get in their mouth or try to, or small such as aquarium substrate that they can spit out without trouble)

As it stands, thatís a pretty good bioload for that size of pond (what are the dimensions or water volume if you know?). Itís going to take a fair bit of surface area for enough beneficial bacteria to grow to allow the pond to cycle.

In my pond, which is substantially larger, I have a mix of koi, comets and a couple mixed flavours of fancy goldfish. They all seem to get along good, in the evenings when the sun starts to drop they can usually be seen swimming in a large group around the shoreline
Your pond sounds beautiful.
How's substrate gonna help the fish? Goldfish aren't bottom feeders right?

The dimensions and volume,
It holds 188 gallons of water.
Width 86 cm
Length 150.5 cm
Height 55 cm
__________________
kk1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2021, 07:50 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 2,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by kk1999 View Post
How's substrate gonna help the fish? Goldfish aren't bottom feeders right?
There is no filter, so you need something for bacteria to grow on to process fish waste (ammonia) into less toxic nitrate. Substrate is a good media to hold this bacteria.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdKoi View Post
Is there any rock/gavel/ect on the bottom? With no filtration and that kind of bioload you need somewhere for the beneficial bacteria to live
__________________
Aiken Drum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2021, 08:59 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aiken Drum View Post
There is no filter, so you need something for bacteria to grow on to process fish waste (ammonia) into less toxic nitrate. Substrate is a good media to hold this bacteria.
The live plants can help sort the waste issue innit?

About the filter or pump system, I was wondering if it would be necessary to add a pump system or filter because I'm in a tropical country, Indonesia to be precise and secondly I live in outskirts so its filled with greens everywhere. It rains a lot so the water is displaced quiet frequently.

The geography brings me to another question. There are a lot of snails or many different sizes so will it be sensible to use them and there are many different plants in the damp area in the woods. I was able to figure out some are poisonous to the fish.

These are just my questions and I'd take the idea about the substrate into consideration tho. Thanks a lot.
__________________
kk1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2021, 09:59 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Aiken Drum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Derbyshire, UK
Posts: 2,345
Im going to start this with a couple of points.

I understand you are trying to do the best for your neighbours fish. So on good on you! Everything you try and do will be of benefit.

Also, im not a pond guy. Coldkoi knows more about ponds than me. Probably knows more about ponds than i ever will.

But, in my opinion a box of water is a box of water. It doesnt matter whether that box is made of glass or lined plywood. It doesnt matter if that box is inside or outside.

Your system needs to be able to manage ammonia going in. Plants can take up some ammonia, but it would need a lot of plants and a small amount of fish for plants alone to be sufficient. The nitrogen cycle can deal with it if there is sufficient surface area for enough beneficial bacteria to consume all the ammonia. Without a filter and filter media this will be difficult, unless again you are talking about a small number of fish relative to volume of water. You also need water movement so water passes over or through whatever your beneficial bacteria is growing on. Dilution? In a big pond with a relatively small amount of fish i see that as doable, but your neighbours pond isnt that big and there are quite a lot of fish relative to the amount of water.

I would also take issue with relying on rainfall to manage things. There are 2 stages to changing water. Old, contaminated water needs to be taken out and replaced with new clean water. Rainfall only deals with the replacement side (unless you are relying on the pond overflowing). Simply replacing evaporated water won't help as its only the H2O that evaporates, it leaves the contaminants behind. You actually need the both input and output.

In my opinion, unless you are planning a lot of big water changes you wont be able to safely manage water quality in your neighbours pond without some kind of filtration.

As i said though. Im not a pond person, so could be way off the mark.
__________________
Aiken Drum
Community Moderator
Aiken Drum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2021, 10:58 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Posts: 118
That’s bang on as far as my knowledge goes.

It’s no different than having a tank indoors with no filter and no substrate. Just a tank of stagnant water that gets a top up with a bit of fresh water every now and then


You need somewhere for bacteria to live. Substrate adds a larger surface area for it to populate. Plants definitely help, but you need a lot of them if you’re relying on them to clean the water

Although I rely on rainwater and spring runoff to top up and “change” water in my pond, it’s also roughly 750,000 gallons. It’s got natural vegetation and a windmill aerator to circulate water

If you haven’t already, please read up on the nitrogen cycle and what is involved in establishing a ‘complete’ cycle
__________________
ColdKoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2021, 12:46 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by ColdKoi View Post
Thatís bang on as far as my knowledge goes.

Itís no different than having a tank indoors with no filter and no substrate. Just a tank of stagnant water that gets a top up with a bit of fresh water every now and then


You need somewhere for bacteria to live. Substrate adds a larger surface area for it to populate. Plants definitely help, but you need a lot of them if youíre relying on them to clean the water

Although I rely on rainwater and spring runoff to top up and ďchangeĒ water in my pond, itís also roughly 750,000 gallons. Itís got natural vegetation and a windmill aerator to circulate water

If you havenít already, please read up on the nitrogen cycle and what is involved in establishing a Ďcompleteí cycle
I was aware of Nitrogen cycle but never thought about it here, silly me!

There's water lettuces now in the tank and the water seems cleaner for some reason.
I had added duckweed too.

I'm getting a clearer picture now. Thanks a lot guys.
__________________
kk1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2021, 04:01 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
rlederer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Northern California
Posts: 724
Quote:
Originally Posted by kk1999 View Post
I didn't think substrate is a good idea given curiosity of goldfish. They nibble on everything.
What fish are good to go with them?

I've placed a few rocks for the bacteria to grow on if that helps.
I wouldn't add any more fish until you get a filter and some substrate. Even then, it looks crowded as it is.
__________________
Roger (always pH) Lederer
rlederer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2021, 01:26 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2021
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by rlederer View Post
I wouldn't add any more fish until you get a filter and some substrate. Even then, it looks crowded as it is.
Hi,
Yes, I've realised that. Thanks a lot for the enlightenment cuz this was the first time I had to deal with something like this.
__________________
kk1999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fish, goldfish, fish tank, tank, setup, gold, condition, tank setup, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My poor poor ADF T___T Puriti Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 07-02-2006 02:05 PM
Need help with condition of tank....PLEASE!!??!!! justagal30 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 28 08-15-2005 01:37 AM
Inherited tank in mediocre condition billburroughs Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 04-23-2005 09:43 AM
My poor poor cleaner shrimp :) Doan Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 12-31-2003 03:39 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.