guppies

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JulieB

Aquarium Advice Regular
I have a 3 gallon tank that has been cycling and I think... *think* I'm ready for fish. I've never done a fishless cycle before, so I'm sure I did some things wrong. I added some flake food to create ammonia, and filled the tank with water from my 55 gal. Was this enough to get the cycle going? I didn't check the parameters until a few days ago (the tank has been running for several weeks now. Ammonia was at 0. I don't remember what the nitrate and nitrite were at... one was at 0. I'll check my notes and post the exact numbers tonight. The pH was at 7. Is this high?

I want to get some guppies. First off, how many guppies will be fine in a 3 gallon tank? It only has an UG filter, but frequent PWC's are not a problem. I've got a heater, it's set at 78 F.

I'd love your input. Thanks in advance!

Julie,

I'm sorry to say but you probably don't have any living bacteria anymore. Like us, they need a relatively constant supply of food and they probably starved when the flake food was gone. The best thing for you to do is get some of the filter media from your 55 (canister filter?) and cram that into the filter of the 3 gallon. It will give you a large boost to your biological filter.

Then I would add some more flake food (small amount, about what you would feed to a single fish) and wait a day or 2. Keep the tank lights off. After a day or so take your measurements again and look for ammonia. As long as you have ammonia your bacteria will be fine. When it gets close to zero, add in some more flake food to get the ammonia level back up.

Your tank is very small. Guppy's are live-bearers. They don't lay eggs like most fish and can multiply like rabbits. I would recommend if you are set on guppies to make sure that you get ALL the same sex, and no more than 2-3 of them.