Guppies and gold white mountin minnows

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cj92

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi all

I recently got a new 19L tank and filter. I got some gold white mountin minnows once I had the filter set up and running for 24 hours. I then at a later date got some guppies to add to the tank. I am new to having fish so I am relying on the advice from the pet shop staff. They have told me that guppies can survive at cold temperatures but after a bit of research, this doesn't seem to be true and they are tropical fish. I have also seen that the gold white minnows are quite hardy and can survive in warmers waters. Would it be best to get a heater for the tank or separate the fish? Also if I do get a heater can I put it in the tank and warm the water up while the fish are in there

Sorry about the long question. Any help will be appreciated

Thanks

Are you saying a 19 litre tank or a 19 gallon long tank?

A problem you have is that a 19 litre tank is tiny and not really suitable for those types of fish. Your tank would be on the minimum size for say 3 guppies. The minnows should be kept in minumum number of 6 and will need a larger tank to support those numbers and give them enough swimming space.

The top end temperature for the minnows and bottom end for guppies overlap, so they could be kept together, but its not ideal for either.

Get a 40 litre tank for 6 minnows and keep 3 guppies in your smaller tank.

Are you saying a 19 litre tank or a 19 gallon long tank?

A problem you have is that a 19 litre tank is tiny and not really suitable for those types of fish. Your tank would be on the minimum size for say 3 guppies. The minnows should be kept in minumum number of 6 and will need a larger tank to support those numbers and give them enough swimming space.