Having to do a fish-in cycle, need a little help..

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

00youknowit00

Aquarium Advice Addict
Okay, so obviously I'm new to this if I was led into putting fish in before cycling by the evil LFS.. anyways, its about 3 weeks into a fish in cycle now (I don't wanna take the fish back to do a fishless cycle, so imma try my luck with this), and I have questions about my readings, pretty much is it right, where am I roughly in the cycle, and do I need to do anything different?

Also I plan to log my progress here, so if something goes wrong (or if something goes right even:D ) y'all could help me.

Just got back from vacation for 10 days, did a 50% pwc, heres my readings:

Ammo: ~0.25ppm
NitrIte: ~0.50ppm (first time I've seen NitrIte)
NitrAte: ~0.00ppm (maybe a tinie tiny bit darker than 0.00ppm but not near 5.00ppm)

What does the arrival of nitrIte mean?

Thanks!

The arrival of nitrites mean you are half way there!

You have now enough bacteria that converts ammonia to nitrites, so ammonia should be near zero most time. The nitrites will spike as there is no nitrite eating bacteria yet. You need to continue with pwc to keep nitrite levels low and wait for the 2nd bacteria colony to develop. When that happens, the nitrates will start to rise & ammonia & nitrites will stay zero.

BTW - nitrites cross react in the nitrate test. So high nitrites will give a positive nitrate reading. Until the nitrites come down, don't get too excited with rising nitrates!

Means you just need to continuecwith the PWC's. Nitrite means you have the BB that turns ammo into nitrite ... the next step is to have nitrates. At that point you have the BB needed to have a cycled tank.