Help! Im new to this.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nicole1217

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I have been wanting to get a fish tank for a while. I researched easy beginner fish and decided Id go with guppies. I went to Walmart and bought the 10 gallon starter they sell. The lady working that section told me the tank needed to be cycled before adding fish. She told me 48 hours should be fine. I remember seeing something about cycling of the tank so I took her word. Got it set up. Went back two days later the person working said I could put up to 10-12 guppies in the tank. I decided to do half that to start with. I took 5 guppies home. The first day was fine but I noticed ones arm fins (I'm not sure what they are called) started looking disintegrated. By the end of the day her arm fins were almost completely gone. The next morning she was dead. I also noticed yesterday that two other guppies were looking the same and staying at the very top. I started doing research and I read up on the cycling of a tank, which clearly takes longer than 48 hours. I lost another two today. I assume from ammonia burn. Yesterday I did a 50% water change. The remaining two guppies are not showing any symptoms the others did. I want to try to save these two. I read that I should do water changes twice a week but would daily give them a better chance? Or would that mess with the cycling process? Help!