Help me get started shopping/planning?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

K.Lyfe

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am seriously beyond overwhelmed by the amount of information out there for setting up a new tank. I'm VERY new to this, and I really want to do it right! Basically this is your chance to turn me into a good little fishkeeper.

I am still deciding between a 5.5 and a 10 gal (I don't have space for any more furniture in my room, so I'm limited to what is safe to stand on my dresser).

I know there's more to it than that!

I know I need a water conditioner for chlorine, etc. I was planning to use Prime by seachem?

That's about all I know!

I'd like to have a live-planted tank. I think this means I need sand as a substrate? What plants would be good for a beginner in a small tank?

Filters, heaters, cleaning equipment... please help! I'd like whatever equipment to be as quiet as feasible.

Also, for tanks - If I have to stick to the 5 gallon, would a small rectangular tank or a semicircle-shaped tank be better?

What would be my stocking options for a 5 gal? I'm thinking a betta and a snail or some shrimp... Do I have any other options?

Same for a 10 gal - what would live happily in that?

I've had horses for years, and they don't concern me half as much as the prospect of a bunch of tiny fish! :eek:

Hi K,
It can definitely be intimidating to start! But you'll get the hang of it.