Help my fish are dyeing !!!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rono11

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
HELP MY FISH ARE DYEING !!!!!I am new in this fish thing never had aquarium before.I have a 10g aquarium. I set it up about a month ago. I did every week like 25% water change. at the 4th week i change the water and filter.That time i a had 3 gold fish 1 alga eater and 1 green catfish.After i changed the water and filter one of my gold fish died. I check the water ammonia level was 4. I did 25% water change every day, but ammonia level has not changed, and i lost all gold fish and the alga eater.I put my green catfish to the bowl. Change the %80 water and ammonia level went down 0.5 After 5 days i put my green catfish back to the tank and bought 2 tiger barb (yesterday) I fin the 2 tiger barb today morning dead ( monday). The wasn't eve alive in my fish tank for a day. I checked my ammonia still 0.5 every other like PH 7.5 nitrite nitrate are 0. Temperature 82F, and i useing conditioner as well as top coat.
What is wrong??? What to do???

Your tank is not cycled. Goldfish creatmassive amounts of waste and are not suitable for for a 10 gallon ta nk. Three goldfish probably need a 30 gallon minimum to start and then get moved to a 55 as they grow. They's also cold water fish, so and 82 degree tank is way too hot for goldfish. It's also on the warm side for cory cats and otos as well as they are cool water tropical, prefering the mid to low 70's.

When you changed out your filter, you got rid of the home for all your beneficial nitrifying bacteria. They live in the filter screens and media. If you replaced them or washed them in tap water, you are back to starting over with your tank cycle.

Im sorry to hear that