Help! Starting a 29 gal freshwater on college student budget!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

gabysapha

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hello AA!
Ever since I started with my 10 gallon aquarium 4 years ago I have stalked this forum for advice, tutorials... anything. I want to thank everyone who participates in these forums for teaching me pretty much everything I know about fishkeeping.

The issue: I found a 29 gallon aquarium at a yard sale. YAY!!!!!

But I am a very poor college student and I shouldn't be spending money on an aquarium at all, but one 10 gallon isn't enough!

:::::Info about me and the new tank:::::

This aquarium has a light with a "normal" not-very-interesting fluorescent light in the hood, and a filter. No heater.... I'll have to buy one.

My 10 gallon has only black gravel and plastic plants. I'm a little embarrassed by that, but oh well. Contains ghost shrimp, 1 platy, 4 Endler's Livebearers.

I have one experimental 1 gal fish bowl containing gravel, hornwort, and java fern.

The only stores in my area are Petsmart and an LFS that is more expensive than Petsmart and with more unhealthy fish.
I do use Aquabid, though.

I have NO experience with live plants other than putting hornwort and java fern in a bowl containing aquarium water and waiting to see what happens.

Do you have tips or ideas on what to do with this empty 29 gal aquarium? I want this to be as cheap as possible but as interesting as possible at the same time. For example, I would love to get a smaller substrate because I would LOVE to keep a school or cories or kuhlis. But what kind of substrate???

Thank you for reading.

Hi and welcome to AA!

I don't know if I can answer all of your questions since I'm still learning too, but I'll do what I can.