Help- Think i have been misinformed re. tetras

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

newbiefish106

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hi,
This is my first post so hopefully its in the correct place.

I am completely new to keeping fish however I have obtained advice from a friend and carried out research.
I have waited until the ammonia level in my tank peaked then went to 0 again and I then added 3 Silver fin tetras to my tank.
Two weeks later and they look good however the larger of the 3 tetra seems to constantly chase one of the others.
I went to a local shop and asked about putting more tetras in the tank (read that I should have group of 6 ideally so they could school) the man in the shop said that all types of tetra would school together and recommended three more tetra of any kind. I picked three neon tetras which are significantly smaller than my silver fins at the moment.

I've now read that I should have stuck to the same species of tetra and these two types will not school together? I only have a 12 gallon tank so I dont think i can add three more of each species without over stocking the tank?

Will my fish be stressed in groups of three and why is the larger silver fin chasing the other all the time??

Thanks in advance.

You need to keep tetras in groups of 7 or more, ideally. The one tetra is chasing the others because it is the dominant fish and it has no other fish to spread its aggression out on. If you had 7 of them it would chase them all equally and the stress would be spread out. Pick the species you like the least, and return them. Get 4 more of the species you still have.

Also, you should have waited longer to get fish. You don't just wait for the ammonia to spike and go down, you must wait for the nitrite to spike and go down as well.