help wiith high ammonia

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jeff6898

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am new to aquariums. I took my water to the local fish store on day 7 and was told tank tested perfect I could add fish so I did. I have been fighting high ammonia ever since. Cant get it to go away. I am now on day 46. Have been doing water changes every other day. I even did a 90% water change as instructed by fish store. They have had me keep putting prime and stability in., Still no change in ammonia. I am at whits end can anyone help me? I have been spending a fortune on chemicals the store been selling me. I don't mine spending the money if it helps but it hasn't budged. Any suggestions?

water is nice and clear

Attachments

• 20200602_185838_resized.jpg
    20200602_185838_resized.jpg
    125.7 KB · Views: 34
  • 20200602_185031.jpg
    20200602_185031.jpg
    255.4 KB · Views: 36
Hi Jeff

Are these your water parameters?

pH: 7.0
Ammonia: 2ppm
Nitrite: 0ppm
Nitrate: 20ppm

These look very strange. There is clearly some nitrate, so some ammonia is cycling in nitrite and all the nitrite is cycling to nitrate. It usual for the ammonia to be getting to 0ppm before the nitrites though.

A few questions.

- What size is your tank?
- What filter do you have? Is it suitably rated for the tank?
- What fish do you have in there?
- Are your fish looking healthy? Is the ammonia resulting in any visible issues for the fish?

A few potential causes.

Perhaps you just have an unusual cycle, keep up with testing and water changes whenever you see detectable ammonia or nitrate. If you havent already done so, either get some established filter from somewhere or dose with some bottled bacteria.