Help with fish less cycling

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Irene27

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am completely new to keeping fish. I have a Juwel Vision 260 aquarium and want to keep tropical fish. I am 36 days into a fish less cycle, adding ammonia each morning to 4ppm.

The ammonia has been dropping to 0, or 0.25, as have the nitrites, and the nitrates have been at 5, so yesterday I did a 90% water change, and added ammonia to 4ppm again.

This morning I am very confused as my readings are

Ammonia 0.5, Nitrite 0.5 but Nitrate 40.

I suddenly thought about the tap water I added yesterday. I tested that and it has a reading of Nitrates at 20 on its own.

I am not sure what to do next. I would really welcome any advice.

Thank you Irene

It's not uncommon to have nitrates in tap water. Hopefully this is a seasonal/temporary condition. I once had 5 ppm nitrate and 1 ppm ammonia coming out of my tap water I had to be careful and limit the size of the water changes. Even with 20 ppm nitrate, water changes will do more help than harm. The exceptions would be if you had very sensitive fish or if you were doing SW.
I think you are close to finishing the cycling process. I would test again, especially the nitrite. Once the BB start converting nitrite to nitrate, it's done at such a rate that it is often undetectable. Personally, I would shoot for dosing 2 ppm ammonia. Just a preference based on the assumption that stocking would be performed incrementally (not adding all of the fish at once).

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

Thank you - that is reassuring - I will test again and keep an eye on the tap water.