Help with fishless cycle, ammonia not dropping at all

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

emills1027

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone I am brand new to the fishkeeping hobby and I have learned a lot on this forum. However I am still unable to figure why my tank is not cycling . I started my cycle on 1/18, I received awful advice from a friend that worked at petsmart. He told me not to use dechlorinator since I was doing a fishless cycle. After reading through this forum I realized that advice not only set my cycle back but also ruined any bacteria I had developing. Since then I have tried everything outside of starting completely anew to get my cycle going and I still haven't seen any drop in ammonia. After receiving the bad advice from my friend I did order a chlorine test kit just to make sure there was no chlorine present in the tank. I used Seachem Prime to treat the water.

I have a 75 gallon tank with a Tidal 110 HOB filter, I am using pool filter sand as my substrate and I do not have any live plants in the tank but I do want to add some eventually.

I am using Dr. Tim's ammonium chloride solution to add ammonia and I am dosing to 4ppm. I was under the impression that I may have over dosed the ammonia because I never saw any signs of it dropping after weeks. I did a PWC last night and it brought my ammonia to 2ppm. I dosed it back to 4ppm for now.

I have gravel from a friends tank, and its been there for a little over a week and I still have yet to see any nitrites or nitrates. I am using the API kit.

My PH appears to be at a 7.6 and I have the heater at 83 degrees fahrenheit. I am also using Seachem Stability but it doesnt appear to be working.