Help with new tropical tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Princess1982

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi everyone. I have been keeping fancy goldfish for 3 years now and would like to start a tropical tank. I have a 54 litre tank set up which I have been using for a goldfish I have recently rehomed. The tank is cycled, can I add tropical fish to this water or do I need to start again?

I love mollies and was wondering what other fish I could put with them. Do you have any stocking suggestions? Can you tell me how I work put how many fish I can put in this tank?

I know goldfish but this is completely new for me so any advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

Stephanie

It's common belief that mollies need a 30g aquarium, 15 might be cutting it a little small.

Have you looked at platies? They are both very similar fish.

Either way, community fish that I would suggest that can go with either of them in a tank that size are Dwarf Gourami, harlequin rasbora, guppies, neon or rummynose tetra, and danios.

As for using the same water, as long as there iis 0 ammonia, 0 nitrites, and below 40 nitrates then I would say go ahead and use it.

Thanks this is really helpful. Would an imperial Pleco be too big for this tank? i know other breeds grow quite large other than the bristlenose. But imperials are lovely and I have always wanted one.

I'd put some tetras in. Leave the gourami out if you're using guppies, gouramis like to nibble on their tails. Cardinal tetras and zebra danios are great beginner fish. That's pretty much what I have in mine. I also have ghost catfish but they're more of an intermediate level. Hope I could help! :)

Thanks this is really helpful. Would an imperial Pleco be too big for this tank? i know other breeds grow quite large other than the bristlenose. But imperials are lovely and I have always wanted one.