How am I doing?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kayla.l.ryan

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello everyone!

I am wondering how I am doing with my tank. I'm new to this :)

I have a 55 gallon planted tank... I use 216W HO T5 lights. I have to marineland 350 filtration systems.
Use a heater to keep water at 79 degrees. My water quality seems good with 30% water change once a week

PH: between 7-7.5
Nitrate: 0
Nitrite: 0
GH: 60
KH: 80

I do put 1 tablespoon of aquarium salt per 5 gallon.

Stock:
9 neon tetras
7 von Rio tetras
2 oto cats
3 clown loaches
3 ram - 2 blue, 1 gold
2 paradise gouramis
1 angelfish

I am new to this... Got our tank set up and cycled about a month ago and finished adding fish today.

Does this look OK? Am I maxed out on fish? Is there anything else I should consider doing/adding?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Attachments

• 1398640448062.jpg
    1398640448062.jpg
    52.3 KB · Views: 52
I am making assumptions based on several things I am seeing so please let me know if I am wrong about something.

Well some thoughts on your overall situation:

Stocking -

Paradise gourami - They are aggressive fish and don't really fit with your stock of more peaceful community fish. I would suggest returning them both. At the very least you will need to return one of them because they will gleefully fight each other.

Oto Cats - These are a highly sensitive fish that really should only be put in mature tanks as they tend to die quickly otherwise.

Clown loach - they get far too large for a 55g tank. I would suggest returning them or rehoming them.

Rams - Only stick with a pair or they will generally fight and kill each other otherwise. 1 male and 1 female pair for the smaller tanks such as the 55g.

Angel - Get him a mate! :brows: