How do i start over & do fishless cycle?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

scarlett

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi, i have decided to empty my tank and start over due to the ammonia levels in my tank being off the charts and killing all my fish :( . So my next question is do I empty the whole tank and clean my gravel,plants and filter?? Or can I just empty half of the water? I had goldfish in there, they apparently carry yucky diseases 8O . So i am not sure? I have a master test kit and i have ammo lock, ph decreaser& increaser, water conditioner and this stuff called cycle. Does the cycle stuff help? Anyway I am really considering the fishless cycle but i have only read an article on how to do it in saltwater and not fresh water? If anyone knows where I can find a good article on how to do this fishless cycle please send it my way. As well as let me know if i should drain the whole tank? Do I wash my stiff in just hot water or boiling water? thanks

The ammo lock was most likly the issue with yoru ever rising ammonia. Usually products like that just bind up the ammonia in to a not so toxic form but it still registers on the lower priced test kits.

What I would do is to simply empty the tank and spread out the substrate on something flat outside to allow to dry for a few days. This should kill most anything on the rocks. On your empty tank use a 1:10 bleach solution and wash the inside of the tank real well. Then rinse till no bleach smell is left. Again let that air dry for a day or so. Then put everything back in the tank and add water and water conditioner.