Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-15-2015, 12:23 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 86
How many fish can I stock at one time

My aquatic store is a really long ways away (1 hour drive), so I can't go there whenever I want as it is totally inconvenient. So I need to make the most of every trip I make. Lol. I am just curious as to how many fish could I safely put in my aquarium at one time? It's a 75 gallon tank that is fully cycled, and if it matters I currently only have 5 zebra danios in it. I am currently wanting to start with five or six cory catfish and two or three Siamese algae eaters. Could I do all of those at once or do I need to split it between two or three visits?


Sent from my SM-G360P using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________

__________________
Travis32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 02:03 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: anderson s.c.
Posts: 82
If you do that many at once the bacteria may not be able to handle the load for a few days. You can probably get by with frequent water tests and changes until the bacteria colony grows large enough to handle the new load.
__________________

__________________
buffalochip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 02:12 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 1,175
How did you cycle the tank? If you dosed 4ppm ammonia and its able to process that in <24 hours, you'll be fine adding the Cory's and sae's together

Jesse
__________________
PassengerTN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 02:16 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 86
I used seeded media from another tank to cycle. That was 2 weeks ago.

Sent from my SM-G360P using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Travis32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 02:22 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 1,175
What size was the other tank?

Jesse
__________________
PassengerTN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 02:35 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 86
55 gallon

Sent from my SM-G360P using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Travis32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 02:44 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: anderson s.c.
Posts: 82
knowing the tank is only 2 weeks old, i would not add all the fish at once.
__________________
buffalochip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2015, 06:05 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: West Yorkshire, England
Posts: 1,295
How many fish can I stock at one time

Quote:
Originally Posted by Travis32 View Post
My aquatic store is a really long ways away (1 hour drive), so I can't go there whenever I want as it is totally inconvenient. So I need to make the most of every trip I make. Lol. I am just curious as to how many fish could I safely put in my aquarium at one time? It's a 75 gallon tank that is fully cycled, and if it matters I currently only have 5 zebra danios in it. I am currently wanting to start with five or six cory catfish and two or three Siamese algae eaters. Could I do all of those at once or do I need to split it between two or three visits?


Sent from my SM-G360P using Aquarium Advice mobile app

It sounds as if you're probably going to add them all anyway. I know how it is to be miles from a decent fish shop. If you do then you need to test water parameters daily and water change to bring ammonia and nitrite to below 0.25ppm. Using Prime daily will also give you some added protection. Don't over feed as you'll make the situation worse.


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________
ScotJudd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2015, 06:28 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 86
I ended up getting 6 cory catfish only. We decided to wait on getting anything else as I didn't want to overload the tank at once.

Sent from my SM-G360P using Aquarium Advice mobile app
__________________
Travis32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015, 09:03 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Canada, the hardest place to get fish shipped to you
Posts: 95
You could've gotten more considering your tank size. If you want SAEs you might want to just get one. They get territorial when fully grown. But just against their own kind so all your other fish will be fine.


Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Fishy Fever
Fishy Fever is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fish, stock

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How many fish can I add at one time confusedfishmom Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 08-15-2014 12:53 PM
how many can i add at one time? Dr. Scroggins.. Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 12 06-06-2010 03:00 PM
How many fish at one time? Big C Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 11 03-30-2005 11:44 AM
How many corals at one time? runway1 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 03-02-2005 11:37 PM
How many fish can I add at a time? MarkW19 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 06-11-2004 07:19 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.