How many fish is too much?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

btsmay

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I am a NOOB and started my aquarium all at once. I didn't know anything about fishless cycling, how many fish are too many, what is compatible with what, etc. Needless to say, the people at my lfs were not helpful at all. I don't mean to be mean, but I don't believe there is anyone there that has any idea at all about aquariums. I have a million questions, some of which I find the answers to just by reading this forum (which is a godsend, btw).

My first quick question here is, how many fish is too many for a 10g tank? I have 1 pleco, 3 tetras, 3 rasboras, 2 corys, 1 oto, 2 betas (1m 1f) and 1 golden mystery snail. I do a pwc every day as my little meter shows ammonia levels warrant it. I have a test kit and the nitrite and nitrate levels are in line, ph a little high(7.6 or higher).

I want to get a 26g bowfront and move my fish to that. When I do, I will do a fishless cycle. Should I use some of the water from my 10g when I do that? (Ooops! I guess that makes 2 questions!)

Thanks a million for all help!

Last edited:
Hey! Welcome to AA!

Thank you so much for actually taking the time to join a forum with people that have experience and some even have the expertise in the hobby. So to answer some questions.

1-Yes, that amount is a tad too much for the tank. The 3 tetras and 3 rasboras along with the snail should be fine for a 10 gallon.
2- When it comes to Bettas you want to keep Males and Female separate. They are put together only to breed otherwise the chances of them killing each other are pretty high. The male may also chase down some tetras and bother them. The female should be fine with community fish just be careful.
3- Great Job for doing water changes everyday!!!