Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-16-2010, 07:08 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Wales, UK
Posts: 336
I am thinking about trying to divide a tank

I have decided I want another betta so I am thinking about trying to divide a tank. I don't need a heater of filter but I really want to find a cheap reliable tank to carry out my project on. Is there anywhere in the UK where I can get a glass fish tank for a reasonable price? Sorry if this is on the wrong thread.

Thanks

__________________
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 07:13 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Crepe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,332
Make your own using silicone and glass panels. A 30cm rimless cube would cost maybe 20-30 dollars to make.
__________________
Crepe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 07:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
krap101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Roscoe, IL
Posts: 6,082
Send a message via AIM to krap101
If there's a petco in the UK, they might be having the same sale as here. A dollar per gallon for 10's 20H, 20L, 29, 40B and 55's. It ends tomorrow though.
__________________
~ Danny
krap101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2010, 07:56 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
look for a used tank. best way to save money.
__________________
Google.
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2010, 08:23 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Wales, UK
Posts: 336
I heard about that sale, unlucky for me we don't have a petco here My auntie works at a primary school with loads of tanks that they didn't have the time to look after so she's going to get me one, hopefully she remembers If not, I have found a clearseal fish tank for £20 hopefully they aren't rubbish lol
__________________
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 03:17 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chester-le-Street, UK
Posts: 786
I was just going to say Clearseal. I am thinking of getting one myself. Although they are very difficult to find information on and they don't specify the litres capacity for some reason.
__________________
135 litre (35 US gallons) 6 Black Widow Tetra; 3 Mollies; 3 Bronze Cory; 1 Pygmy Cory; 6 Gold Barbs
27 litre (7 US gallons) 6 Guppies.
Mark Hewitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 10:41 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Wales, UK
Posts: 336
I know, I did notice. The one I found is 18x10x10 inches which is 6.5 gallons, i've been doing some math and dividing 18 in half, would give me 9x10x10 which is approx 3.2 gallons for each fish and i'm not sure if that is going to be big enough. Clearseal for some reason don't do a 10 gallon and if they do I cant find one anywhere lol.
__________________
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 11:21 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Crepe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,332
Wait is that UK gallons or US gallons? If it's UK that makes it to about 2.8 gallons per fish anyways that's plenty enough for most fish. EDIT: Nevermind, that's a betta, not enough most definitely. What's the next highest size for clearseal?
__________________
Crepe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 05:31 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Wales, UK
Posts: 336
Its UK gallons. The next size up would be 15 nearly 16 gallons which I don't want. I think I may just go around the stores and see whether they can do me a deal on just the tank, its not like I want something fancy just a basic tank to attempt to divide lol. I saw loads on ebay a few weeks ago but do you think I can find any now lol
__________________
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 10:27 PM   #10
AA Team Emeritus
 
jsoong's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton, Canada
Posts: 4,222
If that is imperial gallons, then that tank is actually 1.2*6.5 or ~ 8 US gallons. <Crepe, i think you have your conversion backwards...>

At 4 US gallons per betta, that is actually a pretty good size. <Of course, if you are going for show bettas, the usual tank size for these pampered specimens are 10 to 20 gallons each, so the 16 gal is not out of the question for 2.>
__________________
80 gal FW with 30 gal DIY wet/dry/sump.
9 fancy golds, 1 hillstream loaches, 1 rubber-lip pleco (C. thomasi), 3 SAEs, small school of white cloud minnows, planted.
jsoong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 03:04 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chester-le-Street, UK
Posts: 786
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welsh View Post
Its UK gallons.
Best to use either litres or US gallons on this site. Anything else without qualifying it throws us all into confusion :p.

Of course I understand litres best, but then I now also have a good understanding of US gallons reading this and other sites, I don't have a clue about imperial gallons!
__________________
135 litre (35 US gallons) 6 Black Widow Tetra; 3 Mollies; 3 Bronze Cory; 1 Pygmy Cory; 6 Gold Barbs
27 litre (7 US gallons) 6 Guppies.
Mark Hewitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 03:08 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chester-le-Street, UK
Posts: 786
Clearseal tanks come in
27.7 litres = 7.5 gallons
58.8 litres = 15.9 gallons
67.3 litres = 18.1 gallons
101 litres = 27.3 gallons
(and upwards)
__________________
135 litre (35 US gallons) 6 Black Widow Tetra; 3 Mollies; 3 Bronze Cory; 1 Pygmy Cory; 6 Gold Barbs
27 litre (7 US gallons) 6 Guppies.
Mark Hewitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 12:26 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Crepe's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 2,332
Lol you're right I got the conversion backwards haha. 5 gal per fish is pretty good. I'm better with litres than anything else. Anyways. I'm thinking that the 60 litre model would be better allotting 30litres per fish but that's just me.
__________________
Crepe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2010, 01:44 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dkpate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Issaquah, Washington
Posts: 7,074
If you are going to have a betta, please get a small filter.
__________________
~Darby
dkpate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 12:56 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Wales, UK
Posts: 336
I already have 5 betta's and I always use filters, even for my snails lol

I still can't find a fish tank :@ I think I may go with the 18x10x10 Clearseal 6.5 which is, wait......... 7.8 US gallons and ....... 29.5 US litres..........or around about haha. I can always upgrade when I find my perfect 10 gallon, I'm just too darn impatient lol
__________________
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 03:38 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dkpate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Issaquah, Washington
Posts: 7,074
Yayy for filters! And double yayy for bettas!
__________________
~Darby
dkpate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 04:30 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Wales, UK
Posts: 336
When I cycled my last tank, I used a thermometer, heater, plants and tank water from another tank to help cycle faster. If I did something similar in the new tank I'm getting and also added a used filter how long do you think it will take to cycle?
__________________
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 04:32 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chester-le-Street, UK
Posts: 786
It probably won't need to cycle at all!
__________________
135 litre (35 US gallons) 6 Black Widow Tetra; 3 Mollies; 3 Bronze Cory; 1 Pygmy Cory; 6 Gold Barbs
27 litre (7 US gallons) 6 Guppies.
Mark Hewitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 04:49 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dkpate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Issaquah, Washington
Posts: 7,074
Skip out on the old water, since very little bacteria live in the water column. A piece of filter media and/or some gravel from an established tank would be good, and like Mark said, you might not have a cycle, depending on your bio-load.
__________________
~Darby
dkpate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2010, 07:18 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: South Wales, UK
Posts: 336
Stocking a fish tank and the cycling process always gets me lol I understand what has to happen but it still manages to confuse me lol

Does anyone know if the Clearseal 18x10x10 fish tanks come with a light? on the internet it just says with a hood and I noticed with the bigger tanks if you want a light you have to buy a separate hood

Any ideas?
__________________
Welsh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking on a new tank smokefan Nano Reefs 23 03-04-2010 04:41 AM
thinking about a new tank Evaunitone Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 18 12-17-2009 04:06 PM
do u need to divide your tank into top & bottom dwellers Bubble_B0y Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 08-30-2005 02:27 PM
Help! need to divide 29 for oscars! virus Cichlid Discussion 11 08-22-2005 01:50 PM
Can I divide a 20g tank to quarantine 2 tang? austinsdad Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 07-30-2004 10:04 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.