I need some help with new Aquarium!!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Charan

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
i am a beginner and wasn't much aware of this cycling process. I was told in store that i have to fill up the aquarium, put the gravels and let filter run for 2-3 days and then i can add the fish. so i did that :). I bought 4 guppy and 3 glow fish they all died in 4 days then i bought 3 mollies and today they died too. after reading online now I know that cycling process is lot more then what i know. Now i don't want to add any more fish before it is cycled.

I want to do fish-less cycling. Current water analysis -- Ammonia - 0, nitrite - 3.0, nirtate - 20, pH - 7.6, Alkalinity - 120, hardness - 75, chlorine and chloramine - 0, Temp - 77.

How should I proceed? Should I remove existing water and add new?

Charan said:
i am a beginner and wasn't much aware of this cycling process. I was told in store that i have to fill up the aquarium, put the gravels and let filter run for 2-3 days and then i can add the fish. so i did that :). I bought 4 guppy and 3 glow fish they all died in 4 days then i bought 3 mollies and today they died too. after reading online! now I know that cycling process is lot more then what i know. Now i don't want to add any more fish before it is cycled.

I want to do fish-less cycling. Current water analysis -- Ammonia - 0, nitrite - 3.0, nirtate - 20, pH - 7.6, Alkalinity - 120, hardness - 75, chlorine and chloramine - 0, Temp - 77.

How should I proceed? Should I remove existing water and add new?

Don't throw the filter media away!

leave the water in there (and the filter media). you need to get yourself a good test kit (API Master test kit is a good choice) the test strips are not reliable and you can find great differences between the liquid test kit and the stest strips.