I want fish!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fishtankkeeper

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi, I am a noob at fish keeping. I have had 5 fish flip on me; 3 guppies, 1 balloon molly, and 1 angelfish. I just got a 10 gallon tank two weeks ago and the starting cycle killed my fish I think. All my levels are still adjusting, but I want to get some new fish in a few days/weeks and need something that goes with a pleco (the death of my angelfish) and a balloon molly. I like colorful fish, but want peaceful ones unlike the guppies I had. Please help!

Ps: Will a cory cat do well with my fish?:fish2:

Well, your biggest problem is that you put too many fish in the tank to start the cycling process. Adding 5 fish into a tank that had no buildup of beneficial bacteria probably caused really high ammonia levels and it poisoned your fish.
There is split consensus on whether or not fish should be used for the cycling process. If you want fish now - colorful fish now - I would say your best bet would be hardy species like the Buenos Aires Tetra. It's a relatively large Tetra with a silver body with bright red and black colored fins. Another hardy species is the Black Skirt Tetra. Both of these guys could be placed in a radioactive sludge or battery acid and I swear they'd still be swimming right along.

Please read these articles. They will help you and your fish.

Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium - Aquarium Advice

Fish-in Cycling: Step over into the dark side - Aquarium Advice

If you have a common pleco, I strongly urge you to take it back or get a much bigger tank. They get to be very large and a 10gal. tank won't do. Good luck!