Ideas stocking a 30 gallon brackish tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Dragon.goby

Aquarium Advice Freak
I have a 30 gallon tank and would like to start a brackish tank. I've never done brackish before but I have done many freshwater ones. I would like some ideas for stocking it. Right now in the tank (it's freshwater) there is a Violet Goby and 2 Bumble Bee Gobys. I got them unaware that they were brackish. So I decided to make it a brackish tank. Anyway, do you have any ideas on some other beginner fish for it? :)

If you have the bumblebee and violet gobies in there, I'd say you're overstocked. The violet gobies need a bigger tank. You could add a Molly or two.

Your Tank

I have a 30 gallon tank and would like to start a brackish tank. I've never done brackish before but I have done many freshwater ones. I would like some ideas for stocking it. Right now in the tank (it's freshwater) there is a Violet Goby and 2 Bumble Bee Gobys. I got them unaware that they were brackish. So I decided to make it a brackish tank. Anyway, do you have any ideas on some other beginner fish for it? :)

Hello Dragon...

You could have just about whatever fish you like as long as the salt level in the water is low. Brackish water is simply water that contains between a half and 30 grams of salt per liter of water or .5 to 30 parts salt per thousand of water. Brackish water takes in a wide variety of water conditions.

I keep livebearers in brackish water. I use roughly 5 grams of salt or a rounded teaspoon in every 5 gallons of pure, treated tap water. If you used no more than this in the tank water, most, if not all aquarium fish would be fine.

B