Im pretty sure ive made all the mistakes!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JeffA

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello,

My name is Jeff and about 1 month ago I bought a 55g fish tank from petsmart and flew off into my new hobby of aquariums. Now I have some knowledge of fish keeping but aparently everything I thought I knew was wrong. So forgive my long winded-ness and bare with me as I tell you my story and my plights.

I bought this tank because I wanted to create this wonderful eco-system in my home and teach my daughter some responsibility at the same time. So I go to petsmart (not a mistake I intend to make again) and listened to them tell me what I needed to do. I am a very impatient and compulsive person so naturally I wanted fish right away and so the lady told me i could use a pouch of bacteria and if I did that then I would be fine to put fish in right away. So thats what I did. You see, I bought a set, it came with a marine land dual biowheel filter and heater, along with some led lights both day and night (blue) and I also deemed it necessary to buy an air pump with some line to add oxygen to my tank. So I go about my day buying things to put in the tank, like gravel (blue) and fake plants and a ship decoration.

So $400 bucks later, I have what I need and I go home and set it up I put the gravel down, put the ship and fake plants in there and fill it up. I turn the filter on and let it run for about an hour, then I added the bacteria in a pouch and let that run for about an hour.
Right now im thinking, I got this, and go back up to petsmart to buy some fish, I get some neon tetras, love those little guys, a couple mollys and some neon fish assorments, all tetras I think. So I buy these fish and place them in the tank, well more than half have died within 3 days and the others were getting eaten by the mollys.