Introduction and new tank help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

subee4

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hello all. I am a newbie to having an aquarium and am very much looking forward to getting my tank set up.

I became interested in setting up a tank when I was given a betta fish in a medium sized bowl and started reading about how you should properly care for them. After reading a number care guides, I decided to purchase and set up a 5 gallon aquarium and I can't wait to eventually get my betta in the tank.:fish2:

Of course, as I read about caring for fish, I also learned about fishless cycling for new tanks and I started the process. Here is where I feel I have run into some trouble.

I followed the fishless cycle instructions and after setting up my tank, I added ammonia to bring the level to 3-4ppm. I have checked the water every day to see if I need to add additional ammonia to keep the reading at this level. Occasionally, I have had to add additional ammonia (level sometimes seemed to go as low as 2ppm) and the levels have never been above 5ppm. After about a week or so, I also started testing for nitrites every other day and so far I really have not seen any (perhaps I had a reading of 0.25ppm).

I wouldn't worry about this except it is now day 25, so I feel I must be doing something wrong and would appreciate any help/advice.

Other information that might be useful to know:
- I did add de-cholinator to the water in the tank after I set it up and a day before I added ammonia
- The temperature in my tank is currently high to try and encourage the cycle (~87)
- I have covered the tank to keep the environment dark
- I did not have any filter material from another tank but I did add some substrate from the bowl my fish was originally in to the tank
- I have occasionally added some ground fish flakes to the tank