Is my tank over stocked? Barb/cory issues

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mxmelba

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi everyone. I am very new to fish keeping. This might be long, please bare with me. We started with a 10 gal tank and ran into issues due to not cycling it, over stocked (13 fish) and 3 kids each giving a pinch to feed the fish. That tank is now running but minus fish (fake plants) and I am trying to level out the ammonia. It is getting better.

My father gave me his 55 gal tank since he retired and doesn't want to deal with it anymore. Between his fish, my fish and helping a friend out we now have the following in our 55 gal tank.

55 gallon tank - not planted, contains:
5 tiger barbs
1 pepper cory
1 albino cory
3 harlequin respora
3 zebra danio
4 neon tetras
2 glo tetras
2 plecos
2 mollies yellow
3 black skirt tetras
4 glowlight tetras
2 red phantom tetras

I just added the tiger barbs and the harlequin resporas from a friend 2 nights ago. The barbs are the largest fish in the tank except for a pleco and one of the glo tetras. It seems the barbs are bothering my albino cory. Everyone else seems to be getting along ok.

A few questions.

1. Is my tank over stocked again?
2. If not, should I add 2 more albino corys to it to help the little guy out?
3. My friend said I could return the tiger barbs if they pose a problem. (Not sure how I would catch them, they are FAST).
4. My son wants fish in the 10 gal. His favorite color is red. Ideas on what to put in there? I think 5 would be the max?

Thank you for any help. I have read through so much on the forum.