Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-18-2012, 09:07 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Is reverse osmosis water prevent hardwater stains?

I just bought new acrylic tank, and I dont know any way to prevent it water stains in the first place

Old 02-18-2012, 10:43 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Iron is usually what stains things red/orange. What do you plan to keep in the tank? RO water is good for most applications, but you should partially mix it with tap water to provide some mineral/buffering capacity in the tank.

Old 02-18-2012, 10:54 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie

I am gonna keep tropical fishes, I have zero experience about fish, for now I bought power filter, airpump with tubings, fluo-light, heater with thermometr, some hard stones(gonna break it to pieces, tried with hammer, but didnt work), stress coat plus API's, big bottled RO water,I will put some plants soon, and did not decided yet what fishes to buy.
Old 02-18-2012, 11:29 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

As bs said, RO water should be mixed with tap, or reconstituted with minerals (RO Rite, SeaChem Replenish, etc).
Old 02-19-2012, 09:54 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maptank
I am gonna keep tropical fishes, I have zero experience about fish, for now I bought power filter, airpump with tubings, fluo-light, heater with thermometr, some hard stones(gonna break it to pieces, tried with hammer, but didnt work), stress coat plus API's, big bottled RO water,I will put some plants soon, and did not decided yet what fishes to buy.
Read this b4 getting fish.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/articl...ing/Page1.html
Old 02-19-2012, 10:20 AM   #6
Look It Up