Looking to start a tank :)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mstev2112

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey all!
I'm new to aquariums and was looking for some advice - one of my friends has had a few tanks including a betta sorority, cories and siamese algae eaters, and bettas and cories. I would love to do a tank with a male galaxy betta, b grade if that matters, and 3-5 emerald corydoras. This is where the questions come in :(
Will they get along? would 20 gallons work? how do I go about finding good quality tools (filters, heaters, etc.)? are plants necessary? Just basic set up questions haha. Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks!

Last edited:
Hi, Welcome! If you're buying your tank off the shelf at a LFS (Local Fish Store) or big-box store it will usually come with a filter. Sometimes you can buy the tank as a whole kit, even including heater, even a bit of starter food. Go to the store and spend some time looking at exactly what's offered. Anything not included will be close by, hopefully several choices, so read the package carefully to determine what works for you. If you're not finding what suits you, plenty of options are online (though it can be a minefield with so many, many choices). Bettas require low-flow water, so check out whether the filter is adjustable so you can turn it down to the lowest outflow.