Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-27-2011, 09:17 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Sachiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ohio and Kentucky ;)
Posts: 46
Send a message via AIM to Sachiel Send a message via Skype™ to Sachiel
Question Lost my fish to ich, sterilized tank, how long to wait to start cycling?

The title pretty much says it. My betta didn't make it, the ich got the best of him. So I scrubbed everything down in white vinegar, rinsed, then filled the tank and buckets up with water with white vinegar in it, let everything soak for about 2 hrs. It's been two days since I sterilized, but about 2 weeks since I removed my fish from his tank to qt to treat separately. When should I start cycling again?
__________________

__________________
Sachiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 09:20 AM   #2
Look It Up
 
librarygirl's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 7,052
You could start now I think (fishless, right?). Ich needs a host (fish) to survive, so even if there are any ich parasites left in the tank, during the fishless cycle they'll die off due to not having a host.
__________________

__________________
Every living thing is significant.
🐠 Guide to Starting a Freshwater Aquarium
Community Rules | Custom Site Search
librarygirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 09:23 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Sachiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ohio and Kentucky ;)
Posts: 46
Send a message via AIM to Sachiel Send a message via Skype™ to Sachiel
Quote:
Originally Posted by librarygirl View Post
You could start now I think (fishless, right?). Ich needs a host (fish) to survive, so even if there are any ich parasites left in the tank, during the fishless cycle they'll die off due to not having a host.
Okay I'll set everything up after I get home from school
__________________
Sachiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 09:40 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
LyndaB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 5,816
You might want to look back and think about why your betta got ich to begin with. Was the tank cycled? Were your water params good?
__________________
75: blood parrots, featherfin cat, emperor tetras, turquoise rainbowfish, BN plecos, japanese trapdoor; 46: WCMM, gold inca snails, ghost, bamboo & amano shrimp, kuhli loaches, rummynose & ember tetras, endlers, platies, flame gourami, guppies; 16: pygmy, peppered, loxozonus corys, otos, assassins, RCS ... ~ Research PRIOR to purchase.... ~
LyndaB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 01:22 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 829
Yes lyndab has a very important point. Ich is always around but something had to change for it to take such a hold that your betta died. Did you treat for ich after you noticed symptoms? When my fish get ich, raising the temp of the tank is enough to get rid of it.
Always learn from your mistakes! So make sure you try to diagnose what caused the ich.
__________________
gabysapha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 02:37 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Sachiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ohio and Kentucky ;)
Posts: 46
Send a message via AIM to Sachiel Send a message via Skype™ to Sachiel
Quote:
Originally Posted by gabysapha View Post
Yes lyndab has a very important point. Ich is always around but something had to change for it to take such a hold that your betta died. Did you treat for ich after you noticed symptoms? When my fish get ich, raising the temp of the tank is enough to get rid of it.
Always learn from your mistakes! So make sure you try to diagnose what caused the ich.
The dude at the local petstore thinks it was because he didn't have a heater and the fluctuations caused it. It made sense because my room is the coldest in the house. I have a heater now, but still have yet to get a thermometer. When I start cycling again, I'm going to make sure everything is fine. I dechlorinate the water each time I fill a new jug up (it's easier to do water changes that way). I'll have sto spend the money on the test strips and a thermometer... maybe even a better heater lol mine I can't even tell what temp its at.

And yes, I started immediately after I saw one little spot on his head... but he got worse. >.>
__________________
Sachiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 02:57 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Coursair's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: San Francisco East Bay Area CA
Posts: 7,922
Ich is a parasite, so it's not ALWAYS around. It came into your tank with your Betta or with something else. It's true stress can allow Ich to more easily attack your fish. GL with your tank I'm dealing with a mild case of Ich, but so far my fish are super healthy and no losses. *crossing fingers*
__________________
My 10g Shrimp Jungle My 10g Rimless My 5.5g CRS Tank They are a work in progress
Vid of my Shrimp Jungle
~ Tina
Coursair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 04:14 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 829
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sachiel

The dude at the local petstore thinks it was because he didn't have a heater and the fluctuations caused it. It made sense because my room is the coldest in the house. I have a heater now, but still have yet to get a thermometer. When I start cycling again, I'm going to make sure everything is fine. I dechlorinate the water each time I fill a new jug up (it's easier to do water changes that way). I'll have sto spend the money on the test strips and a thermometer... maybe even a better heater lol mine I can't even tell what temp its at.

And yes, I started immediately after I saw one little spot on his head... but he got worse. >.>
A thermometer is essential
__________________
gabysapha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 04:32 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
steez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 784
Strips are a waste of money, get a real kit like the API Master Kit. It saves you money and gives you real water readings. You also have to have a thermometer, it's a must. Don't add another fish until you have a test kit, thermometer and have a cycled tank.

Also.. if you ever get ich again. The thermometer allows you to do the best treatment for it. Aquarium Salt and raising temp to 82-84 (slowly).
__________________
steez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 06:06 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Sachiel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Ohio and Kentucky ;)
Posts: 46
Send a message via AIM to Sachiel Send a message via Skype™ to Sachiel
yeah I've done tons of research and I know how to treat it, I just didn't know how long to wait to re-cycle. I'm going to wait to get the thermometer and test kit (I was planning on getting the API kit, don't worry lol) and the filter I've been nagging mom to get before I add anything. So I may have to wait a while...
__________________
Sachiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 06:22 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
eco23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 6,314
I think I'm lost...if the tank has been sterilized (aka Ich has been removed), why are we waiting to cycle? Personally, if you've got a tank and any filter at all, I'd go ahead and get it set up, throw in an ammonia source, and let the cycle begin even if you don't have all the stuff you need like a new heater, good test kit, etc.. You'll be glad you got a head start of several days, and you'll be kicking yourself if you don't
__________________
The (almost) Complete Guide and FAQ to Fishless Cycling
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ng-148283.html
Being responsible...fishless cycling defines it, fish-in requires it. Choose wisely.
eco23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2011, 07:18 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 829
Good point! And use the fishless cycle! There are instructions all over the web for that- it will be necessary to get your API test kit if you want to complete your cycle as fast as possible
__________________

__________________
gabysapha is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling, dead fish to ich, ich, long, start, tan, when can i cycle

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article: What You Should Know About Fish Nutrition Fishguy2727 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 02-01-2012 08:41 AM
10 gallon tank - how soon for live plants? Stocking? jimsz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 09-20-2011 10:55 AM
Setting up "new" tank, old existing fish rcgldr Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 08-26-2011 11:31 AM
How long does it take, on average, for a fish to get used to a new tank? andresdeo Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 08-24-2011 06:28 PM
Log for cycling my new tank. zparticle Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 146 07-13-2011 03:34 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.