Master Test Kits Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HitTheRoadJack

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I have so many questions.
So I was looking online for some master testing kits, and I came across two online at www.walmart.com

Has anyone has these two or would reccommend one over the other too me. I don't think we've really ever had a master kit, and to be honest I've never used one before in my life.

Master Kit 1 - http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=3635399

Master Kit 2- http://www.walmart.com/catalog/product.do?product_id=3635493

And is it really necessary to have these other products such as this product?

Thanks very much.[/url]

I use the second test kit. Unless you are on well water you will need somekind of water treatment. I use a brand called "Prime".

Stress coat is not a master test kit, it is for the slime coat of fish.

I use the second of the test kits (the API one) and have had no problems with it. I believe that most people on here are more familiar with the API one so if you had any problems with it lots of people would be able to help you with your problem. Either one would work though.

The Aqua Safe was in reference to a dechlorinator, he obviously knows it's not a test kit. And yes you need one if you have city water. If you are on a well I still recommend using a dechlor due to the heavy metals.

rich311k said:
I use the second test kit. Unless you are on well water you will need somekind of water treatment. I use a brand called "Prime".

Alright. I'm not on well water. Thanks :]

theotheragentm said:
I use this one.

http://www.amazon.com/Aquarium-Pharmaceuticals-Freshwater-Master-Test/dp/B000255NCI/